Featured TUTORIAL Build your FIRST track - BASIC GUIDE

Discussion in 'Tracks' started by luchian, Jun 14, 2014.

  1. eg01st

    eg01st Member

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2018
    Messages:
    41
    Likes Received:
    9
    ...steamapps\common\assettocorsa\sdk\audio\ac_fmod_sdk_1_9\Assets\surfaces

    This is where I found the other sounds.
     
  2. MTHS

    MTHS New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2018
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Will it works when I put water.wav in this folder and set the parameter WAV=water.wav?
     
  3. eg01st

    eg01st Member

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2018
    Messages:
    41
    Likes Received:
    9
    Does anyone knows why my pitboxes are small, barely visible? What defines the size? I am using dummies in my fbx file. Should I be using cubes that are larger size, like 2x2x2 meters?
    And pir crew is also missing, although the AC_CREW objects are there.
     
  4. Pixelchaser

    Pixelchaser Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2015
    Messages:
    1,485
    Likes Received:
    1,012
    had similar problems whilst scaling things before. you have been playing with the scale of these objects at some point and have not reset their bounding boxes via reset xform etc etc. either remake em from scratch or fix the scaling. at least this is the fix for 3dsmax when it occurs. not sure about blender,
     
  5. eg01st

    eg01st Member

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2018
    Messages:
    41
    Likes Received:
    9
    I fixed it. My scene units are apparently inches, because fbx exporter uses scale factor 0.0254.
    3DS MAX is retarded in that waw because every other object is fine - 1 meter in MAX is one meter in ksEditor. I did not scale anything, but now I had to. Lollipop guy was like 2.5 centimeters tall, laying on the floor under the car. I upscaled all spawn points and crew spawners by 4000% and now it works.
     
  6. Patrice COte

    Patrice COte New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2018
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    22
    Hi guys,

    I'm making rather detailed flags for my tracks, but the ksFlags shader is animating the wrong end of the flag.
    I tried every button I could think of to force the editor to switch which end is animated, but no luck. I also tried in Blender to rotate the object, same results. Any suggestions??

    flag problem.JPG
     
  7. LilSKi

    LilSKi Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2015
    Messages:
    287
    Likes Received:
    213
    Flip the UV. I think the left edge of the UV map is fixed. If you don't want a reverse flag on one side you need both sides of the flag in the texture with one being mirrored so the left edge can stay.
     
    luchian likes this.
  8. Patrice COte

    Patrice COte New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2018
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    22
    Wow, that was quick! I assumed I'd be the only one wasting a late saturday night doing tracks!!!
    I'll try that right away!

    EDIT: that solved it!!! Thanks!!!!!
     
    Last edited: Dec 16, 2018
    luchian likes this.
  9. LilSKi

    LilSKi Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2015
    Messages:
    287
    Likes Received:
    213
    Yeah you aren't the only one... And both Canadian tracks too :lol:
    upload_2018-12-16_0-24-3.png
     
    Tibor Solyom, barf and luchian like this.
  10. eg01st

    eg01st Member

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2018
    Messages:
    41
    Likes Received:
    9
    Anyone has an idea why AI is stalling on my mod track? Only after I restart the race, several cars (last test - 2 of 25) just stay on the line without moving, and I think later they retire. No problems after first start after game loads. And always the same cars in each session.I tested RSS GT3, DRM revival and some kunos cars. I have AI spline recorded, pit spline too. I saw on forums that it was an old bug in early AC versions, but it got resolved.
     
  11. Gleidson Silva

    Gleidson Silva New Member

    Joined:
    May 30, 2018
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hello, I am trying to export a track from rFactor 2 to AC, for personal use in offline championship, I did everything that is instructed here but the track does not load in the AC so I continue the process, do AI line, put the cameras.

    The lane appears on the selection screen but does not load.
     
  12. TaufikP

    TaufikP New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2019
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    1
    Hi all,

    First, thank you @luchian for this fantastic tutorial! This has been a great help for me in making my first ever track for AC!

    A bit about me: I used to make mod for ISI's F1 Challenge and rFactor 1, and now I'm trying to make tracks for AC. Usually I use 3DSMax, but now I'm using Blender 2.8. So far so good, in regards to track modelling and spawn/timing objects creation.

    However, there's a scaling issue related to Blender 2.8 FBX export tool. I think this is a good place to share what I've found so far.

    Using the info on the first page (about FBX export setting) resulting way off scale objects (they're HUGE!), i.e. all the spawn and timing empties/dummies are having 100 scale points in ksEditor (and in-game the car is literally up high in the sky --no broken wheels though-- and then falling into the ground endlessly), but strangely enough, all other meshes are all at normal 1 (one) scale point! FYI all objects in my .blend file already scaled to 1:1:1, and I'm using 'meter' as the system unit.

    Anyway, I then realized that Blender 2.8 FBX export dialog have new option called 'Apply Scaling'. In this box there are four scaling options: 'All Local' (default), 'FBX Unit Scale', 'FBX Custom Scale', and 'FBX All'.

    The first option, 'All Local', is causing the scaling problem as mentioned above.

    I then tried 'FBX Unit Scale', exported to FBX and open the file in ksEditor. Everything is normal in ksEditor, save it as KN5 file. No problem so far, good.

    Then in game, car is now perfectly placed above the ground, no broken wheels, and Z coordinate is facing the intended angle, excellent! BUT... the scale is still incorrect. Tracks and objects are no longer huge, but they are now a bit too small. My 12 meter wide track (should be enough for three cars wide battle) is now only about 4 meter wide!

    Well, I haven't try the other scaling option since I'm still at work now. Maybe tonight after I get home and have the time to edit the track.
     
    luchian likes this.
  13. luchian

    luchian Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2014
    Messages:
    2,207
    Likes Received:
    870
    Hi @TaufikP , welcome :).

    I am not using 2.8 yet, but this was present in 2.79 also. It's the FBX All option that you need to select. See THIS post.
     
  14. TaufikP

    TaufikP New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2019
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    1
    @luchian thanks for the info! I'll try it later at home. By the way, is there an automatic vertex merge in Blender? Now I have to select two vertices manually, then press Alt+M to merge them.
     
  15. TaufikP

    TaufikP New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2019
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    1
    I've tried the 'FBX All' option inside Blender 2.8 FBX Export tool, and it solved the scaling issue perfectly! Thanks again for the tip @luchian!
     
  16. Ternal

    Ternal New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2018
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    3
    HI everyone, i have a question. There's someone which know how to make a "helicopter" cam for assetto corsa? Thanks in advance :)
     
  17. eg01st

    eg01st Member

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2018
    Messages:
    41
    Likes Received:
    9
    Not sure, but you can make a spline cam and put it up really high.
    My own example at 2:23


    To make this you need to look at tutorial on this forum.
     
    Ternal likes this.
  18. Ternal

    Ternal New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2018
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    3
    This is what i mean, can you please link me the tutorial? I've searched it, but probably with the wrong words because i didn't find it :-/
    Many thanks eg01st
     
  19. eg01st

    eg01st Member

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2018
    Messages:
    41
    Likes Received:
    9
    Try spline camera or follow camera, there was a tutorial but I can't find it now.
     
  20. Ternal

    Ternal New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2018
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    3
    I will try tomorrow, thanks for now :)
     
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice