Featured TUTORIAL Build your FIRST track - BASIC GUIDE

Discussion in 'Tracks' started by luchian, Jun 14, 2014.

  1. Kibbutz

    Kibbutz Member

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2018
    Messages:
    90
    Likes Received:
    77
    still same problem, that didn't solve anything. Thank you anyway eg01st
     
  2. MTHS

    MTHS New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2018
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    I use 3d max to make the track. I try to change the Y in the direction I want the car to go, but nothing changed. I let Y up and Z in the direction I want, the car fly away. How can I set the start direction of the car?
     
  3. eg01st

    eg01st Member

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2018
    Messages:
    33
    Likes Received:
    8
    I had exactly the same problem. Car kept flying no matter what I did.

    Solution was something like this:

    1. Create a Dummy or a Box 1x1x1 meters, 1 meter above the ground in Top perspective.
    2. Don't change anything - Max fbx exporter will set Y axis to top.
    3. Open track in ksEditor and see if cars spins now, even if it's not facing the right direction.
    4. If car stays on track still, but is sideways, just rotate the whole track in MAX scene, that was a cheap trick but worked for me.

    Anything else - rotating box and rotating pivot just wasn't working out. It was like ksEditor wants to car face in a certain direction.

    My track is published here:
    https://www.racedepartment.com/downloads/roller-coaster-race-circuit-test-release.23770/

    Ask if you need more help.
     
  4. luchian

    luchian Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2014
    Messages:
    1,969
    Likes Received:
    719
    Did you changed the axis ONLY for pivot ?
     
  5. MTHS

    MTHS New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2018
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Yes, I tested it. Only change the axis for pivot. Should I set the Y axis of track UP too? When I set the Y axis of car UP, it fly away. But Z axis of car UP, it stay on track, facing a certen direction.
     
  6. MTHS

    MTHS New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2018
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Did you try to let the track Y axis UP?
     
  7. luchian

    luchian Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2014
    Messages:
    1,969
    Likes Received:
    719
    Don't change anything for the track itself. It's only the pivot point of the spawn points.
     
  8. luchian

    luchian Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2014
    Messages:
    1,969
    Likes Received:
    719
    Also, once you did rotated the pivot, do NOT apply any tranform like X-Form, if you are using max (or apply rotation if you are using Blender).
     
  9. eg01st

    eg01st Member

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2018
    Messages:
    33
    Likes Received:
    8
    No, track has nothing to do with car spawner, track wasn't upside down or anything. Even if track's pivot is Z-up, FBX exporter fixes that to Y.

    Doesn't matter now, for me everything is working. I just remember that is wasn't as easy as just rotating pivot.
     
  10. MTHS

    MTHS New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2018
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Can you give me a example fbx? Thanks
     
  11. eg01st

    eg01st Member

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2018
    Messages:
    33
    Likes Received:
    8

    Attached Files:

    MTHS likes this.
  12. MTHS

    MTHS New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2018
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks for your max file. I copied your AC_START_0 to my track, it works. But it's different from my AC_START_0. Did you create a box, then rename it as AC_START_0? Or you create other something?
     
  13. eg01st

    eg01st Member

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2018
    Messages:
    33
    Likes Received:
    8
    I created a Dummy helper and renamed it.
     
  14. MTHS

    MTHS New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2018
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Maybe it's a key to use 3dMax to create tracks.

    Another question. Can I create multiple spawn places in track? Which I can select where to spawn car in game.
     
  15. eg01st

    eg01st Member

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2018
    Messages:
    33
    Likes Received:
    8
    I don't think so. There are only pit spawners and hotlap spawner.
    For different spawners you can create different layouts-versions of the track. Geometry stays the same, just additionally load several versions of spawners sets.
     
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice