Featured TUTORIAL Build your FIRST track - BASIC GUIDE

Discussion in 'Tracks' started by luchian, Jun 14, 2014.

  1. Johnr777

    Johnr777 Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2017
    Messages:
    576
    Likes Received:
    402
    What’s the name of the mesh the car spawns on top of?
     
  2. Andre Teixeira

    Andre Teixeira New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2021
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    1
    Thanks for the answer! So if I'm exporting x100 scale should I make the arrow 0.01 m or 1 m long? And if I export with x100 the scale what's a good distance from the track, height wise?
     
  3. Andre Teixeira

    Andre Teixeira New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2021
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    1
    The mesh's name is 1PIT
     
  4. JrC

    JrC Member

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2021
    Messages:
    64
    Likes Received:
    21
    :lol:... do NOT quote me on any math extrapolations here.
    Hopefully if I explain what I was doing you can make sense of what you are doing.

    When i went back and checked I realized my scene was 0.01m scale but I had my start objects and pit objects as 1.00 scale. When I exported to 1.0 scale as lilski outlines then my pit box was huge. Floating in the sky huge.
    When I didnt apply any z rotation to the boxes they would spawn me in ok. As soon as I applied any Z it got messed up and I couldnt figure out why it wasnt working. Once I redid the pit objects to the proper scale I could apply Z axis rotation with no issues.

    Then there was the time I accidently tilted the box and didnt see it and that through me for another loop :lol:
     
  5. Andre Teixeira

    Andre Teixeira New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2021
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    1
    I think I got it, I'll make sure to try it out :)
     
    JrC likes this.
  6. ekvajan

    ekvajan New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2021
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi.
    Blender 2.91.
    I have tried every possible way to export FBX (scale 1:1, 1:100, 1000:1) but the KSeditor does not show anything. Any tips?

    The track is modelled 1:1 in metric scale in blender.
     
  7. JrC

    JrC Member

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2021
    Messages:
    64
    Likes Received:
    21
    The track Im working on is at 0.01m scale in blender and Im exporting to 1:1 and it seems to work fine for me. I have had a couple issues where nothing was in the editor after it had been working as if the fbx was corrupted so I had to go back and revert a bit the reexport and it worked again.
     
  8. ekvajan

    ekvajan New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2021
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Downscaling the track to 0.01 and fbx units finally did the trick for me
     
  9. chrisallen76

    chrisallen76 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2021
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    I had a similar issue, but now using 1:1 metric in blender then using the "Apply Scalings: FBX All" and scale of 1.00 in the exporter in Blender 2.8, with -Z forward and Y up, which seems to work for me
     
  10. Andre Teixeira

    Andre Teixeira New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2021
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    1
    What distance do you recommend between pit boxes?
     
  11. JrC

    JrC Member

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2021
    Messages:
    64
    Likes Received:
    21
    I used about a Car length + about a foot in between each one and it seemed good. Otherwise it was too tight imo...

    I was still able to get 36 down Pit Road on Vancouver.

    Also, this mod came out and its such a small thing but gets rid of the janky red pit box and its funny how such a small thing makes you realize how immersion breaking the default box is...

    https://www.racedepartment.com/downloads/pit-cones-pc.39675/

    Recommend.
     
    luchian and Andre Teixeira like this.
  12. Portland12345

    Portland12345 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2017
    Messages:
    31
    Likes Received:
    10
    What would be the next alternative to google earth for elevation data?

    There is no lidar data.

    I read over the rtb injection but there is no coverage for the track that I was thinking of making.
     
  13. Johnr777

    Johnr777 Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2017
    Messages:
    576
    Likes Received:
    402
    Height maps?

    Where's this track?
     
  14. Portland12345

    Portland12345 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2017
    Messages:
    31
    Likes Received:
    10

    Toronto motorsport park

    I couldn't find lidar data.

    Google maps was the only source I found.

    https://torontomotorsportspark.com/


    As you can see track is super basic.

    Elevation looks at minimum.

    Google maps accuracy is 3-5 meters at best which is way too off to be any good use.
     
    Last edited: Feb 23, 2021
  15. Johnr777

    Johnr777 Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2017
    Messages:
    576
    Likes Received:
    402
    Lol, Cayuga! My avatar picture is from one of my friday evening runs there :D

    And yes, there's lidar data... The problem is always finding it in the government's website, and trying to find out which block of data to download.

    Here's what the data for that area will look like, a "bare earth" DEM without intensity... harder to work with but still very accurate: Jukasa Oval just north of TMP

    Jukasa.png

    I might have the chunk of data with TMP on it, will look later.
     
  16. Portland12345

    Portland12345 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2017
    Messages:
    31
    Likes Received:
    10
    ahhhh

    found it

    OMAFRA Lidar 2016-18 data it 3.2 gig download. tons of dem images. I imported it to QGIS.


    says accuracy 0.5 meters. Better than Google.


    Now question is how do I work with this DEM.

    I have only dealt with las/laz before and used cloudcompare, to import to Blender (ply, converted mesh) to work with.




    [​IMG]
     
    maruto likes this.
  17. Portland12345

    Portland12345 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2017
    Messages:
    31
    Likes Received:
    10
    So I figured it out to import to blender

    But huge yikes.

    Its 35 million verts.

    Used Blender GIS plugin to import raw dem file.

    I guess this will need cutting into many tiny pieces to manage, not moving at 1 fps.

    [​IMG]
     
  18. Johnr777

    Johnr777 Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2017
    Messages:
    576
    Likes Received:
    402
    Yikes!

    maybe try to decimate the mesh?
     
  19. EKO Sim-Racing

    EKO Sim-Racing Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2018
    Messages:
    363
    Likes Received:
    308
    What's that cute program right there? Just out of curiosity :)
     
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice