Featured TUTORIAL Build your FIRST track - BASIC GUIDE

Discussion in 'Tracks' started by luchian, Jun 14, 2014.

  1. luchian

    luchian Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2014
    Messages:
    1,983
    Likes Received:
    726
    When you model them yes. But after, if using correct naming, they will automatically be grouped by the AC Editor.

    - on Tapatalk
     
  2. Kibbutz

    Kibbutz Member

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2018
    Messages:
    90
    Likes Received:
    77
    I'm back with a question for you guys! I'm working on a side road transition for my mountain road. What i want to achieve is to give the terrain part of the side road a transparency so that it will blend with my terrain. Is it possible? The squared part on the screen would be the transparent one

    https://imgur.com/R80Kh7C
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
     
  3. Johnr777

    Johnr777 Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2017
    Messages:
    178
    Likes Received:
    92
    There are 2 ways of going about that, one is the alpha channel way... https://assettocorsamods.net/threads/blending-method-for-grass-sand-dirt.164/

    OR the mask shader way, but you need to understand the concept of using a RGB mask for detail textures first... https://assettocorsamods.net/threads/photo-quality-road-surface.834/
     
    luchian and Kibbutz like this.
  4. Kibbutz

    Kibbutz Member

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2018
    Messages:
    90
    Likes Received:
    77
  5. Kibbutz

    Kibbutz Member

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2018
    Messages:
    90
    Likes Received:
    77
    Hey it's me again with yet another question! (I know you can't stand me already :D)
    The alpha blending method worked fine and i fixed the sideroads thanks to that. Thank you Luchian for the guide and thank you John for pointing that out.
    I'm going to approach the guardrails now, and I'd like to know if you can point me again in the right direction for them. I have 2 differents one already in race track builder, but they're really heavy on file size and different from what they should be, and since what I'm looking for is realism I thought I could do them myself. I dislike the kunos way to do them in the trento bondone, and I've read the Ascari race resort and Nisseringen topics since they talk about them, but I couldn't get more than a visual reference. I will have to follow most of the track with them, so I'd like to do the best I can to keep the rails as light as I can.
     
  6. Johnr777

    Johnr777 Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2017
    Messages:
    178
    Likes Received:
    92
    Well, don’t take this the wrong way, but IMO you won’t get realism, or any flexibility to do much in the RTB environment... it was made to be a quick solution to race track building and therefore you only get what’s “programmed” in it. If you want to keep using it to build your track, then the only direction we can point to is the RTB support forum. Bring the track over to 3ds Max or blender and we can definitely help :)
     
  7. Kibbutz

    Kibbutz Member

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2018
    Messages:
    90
    Likes Received:
    77
    I'm on 3ds max and rhino (mostly rhino), I'm using RTB for the landscape and roads wich are really easy to adjust and define, while I'm learning the other 2 programs.. Just give me time, I still need the help of an "RTB" like program, wich guides me and made me learn how to "treat" a terrain.
     
  8. McDev

    McDev New Member

    Joined:
    May 28, 2018
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    6
    Location:
    Germany, Frankfurt
    I just made my first track, thanks for your tutorial. It was a bit of troubleshooting, I had to import surfaces.ini in data folder and my position objects where below another pivot/transform node, but it seems they have to be in the root. Can anyone confirm that? I prefer to organize objects in transforms usually. has anything to be on the root?

    Also I am not sure if my naming is correct. When you define surfaces with ID NAME, what exactly is important? The default surface.ini is: 1:ROAD, 2:GRASS, 3:KERB, 4:SAND

    Does ID and name always need to match or what exactly is ID for? I mean can I only write 1ROAD or also 3ROAD? And if, why is ID necessary? Or do I need unique IDs for each object like 1GRASS, 2GRASS etc.?
     
  9. Johnr777

    Johnr777 Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2017
    Messages:
    178
    Likes Received:
    92
    The NAME defines the property of the surface, so ROAD means it will drive like a road, GRASS will give it a grass type of property, etc...
    ID is to allow you to have multiple objects named the same. So if you have multiple objects that make up your track layout, then you name each 1ROAD, 2ROAD, 3ROAD etc.

    I prefer to only use one ID, so my track objects are named:
    1ROAD.001
    1ROAD.002
    1ROAD.003
    and so on, same for grass, kerbs, walls

    Can't help you with your first question, you must be using something other than 3ds max
     
  10. McDev

    McDev New Member

    Joined:
    May 28, 2018
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    6
    Location:
    Germany, Frankfurt
    OK so you mean two objects named exactly the same is not allowed? Good to know, I think I also like to have unique names in the suffix.
    My first question was related to the hirachy. So that all my position giving objects where under another object called "pivots", so if you import it in ksEditor you have to unfold "pivots" first to see these objects. Anyway that is not a big deal or I make some trial and error and see what works. I could make a screenshot tomorrow if it is still unclear.
     
  11. Gleidson Silva

    Gleidson Silva New Member

    Joined:
    May 30, 2018
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hello guys.
    I'm trying to change, for personal use, the Monaco track but in the chicane I encounter a problem where the AI always collides with the guard rail on the left side. Is there a curb where AI understands it to be a clue, dispute position and hit, how to take this washer or do AI understand that part is not clue? The limit of the lane is correct, I already put the line leaving the curb off the limit, but AI insists on using it.

    Since I am Brazilian, I have difficulty with the tutorials presented.
     

    Attached Files:

  12. Johnr777

    Johnr777 Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2017
    Messages:
    178
    Likes Received:
    92
    Hello Gleidson, welcome!

    Im Brazilian as well, so a few words in portuguese...

    Primeiro, a pista e' obviamente uma conversao ilegal da codemasters, o pessoal aqui nao costuma ajudar quando se trata desse tipo de trabalho.

    Sendo para uso proprio, vou te ajudar. Para diminuir a agressao do AI nessas curvas com paredes, etc, voce pode usar o arquivo AI_hints.ini na sua pista e adicionar a linha:

    [DANGER_0]
    START=x.xxx
    END=x.xxx
    LEFT=x.x

    Troca o "x" pelo lugar dar curva... O AI toma mais cuidade quando chegar naquela curva.

    Good luck and stay away from the these conversions!
     
    Gleidson Silva likes this.
  13. zorro-rojo

    zorro-rojo New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2018
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    3
    Hello everyone !! thank for making this guide! without it it would have been impossible to make my first drift track!! thank you very much!! :)

    20180622044700_1.jpg

    but I have a little problem with the AI line to place replay cameras. When I try select a stretch of the line clicking on it on the track can not select nothing. but when I click on a tree the point of the AI line closest to the tree is selected :banghead:. it's a very strange I do not know what I'm doing wrong. Does anyone know what is going on? :confused:
     
  14. LockeNessMotorsports

    LockeNessMotorsports Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2016
    Messages:
    205
    Likes Received:
    57
    How do I get multiple kn5's to work I've seen Kunos and other modders split it into multiple kn5's.

    I've exported a physical, the main and the trees all as seperate fbxs and imported them separately in ks editor and they all line up fine.

    Then I exported them out and named them phys, trees, parc etc but when I load my track only the main is there with no trees or physical.

    I'm guessing you have to do something in the files to get it to work I'll have to try again later.
     
  15. Johnr777

    Johnr777 Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2017
    Messages:
    178
    Likes Received:
    92
    The editor will only export the first model imported, it will ignore the others. It will also only save the persistence file of the first model imported.

    So import/export each fbx individually.

    To have the game load them, make sure the new kn5 files are listed in the models.ini , look at a Kunos track for examples.
     
    luchian likes this.
  16. luchian

    luchian Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2014
    Messages:
    1,983
    Likes Received:
    726
    Cheers John, did not know either :D.
     
  17. LockeNessMotorsports

    LockeNessMotorsports Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2016
    Messages:
    205
    Likes Received:
    57
    Ahh ok I've exported them separately already I never knew about the models.ini, I'll take a look now cheers John
     
  18. LockeNessMotorsports

    LockeNessMotorsports Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2016
    Messages:
    205
    Likes Received:
    57
    Sorted thanks a ton :), now I know where i went wrong
     
  19. zorro-rojo

    zorro-rojo New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2018
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    3
    please I still need help :( someone knows why I can only select the AI line when I click on the trees?
    short video showing the problem.
     
  20. luchian

    luchian Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2014
    Messages:
    1,983
    Likes Received:
    726
    It's a known problem (of the Editor), and the only workaround I am aware is HERE. Maybe in the meantime, experienced users like @LilSKi came up with better solutions ? (idk). At least now you have "something". Good luck :)
     
    Won likes this.
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice