Featured TUTORIAL Build your FIRST track - BASIC GUIDE

Discussion in 'Tracks' started by luchian, Jun 14, 2014.

  1. luchian

    luchian Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2014
    Messages:
    1,912
    Likes Received:
    691
    Yes. Just define a new surface in the surfaces.ini and play with parameters. I would say to copy the SAND parameters and start from there.

    - on Tapatalk
     
  2. Johnr777

    Johnr777 Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2017
    Messages:
    164
    Likes Received:
    80
    Also make sure to adjust the SIN_HEIGHT= paremeter, so the car doesnt get stuck
     
    MTHS and luchian like this.
  3. MTHS

    MTHS New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2018
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks for your reply. What's the meaning of SIN_HEIGHT? Can you tell me the meaning of other parameter in surfaces.ini, thanks.
     
  4. MTHS

    MTHS New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2018
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks for your reply. What's the meaning of SIN_HEIGHT?Can you tell me the meaning of other parameter in surfaces.ini, thanks.
     
  5. eg01st

    eg01st New Member

    Joined:
    Monday
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    2
    I'm new to this forum and AC modding in general. I have been working on my track for a few week now and ran into a problem I can't find a solution to, no posts or videos really talk about this.

    Basically my AI spline shows value 0.000 for the most of the track. On start/finish straight there is an area for maybe 100 meters where it goes from 0.768 to 0.136 across the s/f line.

    I have tried re-recording the line for hours - from pits, from hotlap spawner, in Practice mode and in Hotlap mode. AI cars work fine. DRS app shows Normalized position as it should be. But when I try to set up track cameras in editor, right click on the track shows 0.000 almost everywhere. And cameras are not working, obviously.

    In screenshot you can see that spline only shows value above 0.000 where the green lines are missing. That must be a part of the problem. Untitled-1.jpg
     
  6. Kibbutz

    Kibbutz Member

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2018
    Messages:
    65
    Likes Received:
    66
  7. Johnr777

    Johnr777 Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2017
    Messages:
    164
    Likes Received:
    80
    Sometimes the editor doesn’t play well with the FBX you exported from blender or max. The work around is to import your FBX in 3DSimEd, re-export it there (you are not going to use it in game, so name it TEMP or something, and import that FBX in kseditor. The camera tools should work now.
     
  8. eg01st

    eg01st New Member

    Joined:
    Monday
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    2
    OK will try it out. Thanks. I will report back with the results.
     
  9. eg01st

    eg01st New Member

    Joined:
    Monday
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    2
    So far nothing. When I import temp.fbx inte ksEditor, my track, kerbs and some grass are turned upside down. Those were objects that I set "correct" axis in MAX, so Y is up. I hate max for this one thing - local axis have to be fixed to work with game engines.

    Anyway, my problem seems to be with spline creating itself...
     
  10. eg01st

    eg01st New Member

    Joined:
    Monday
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    2
    Yes, I'm going to publish it. But it's really far from that. If you want I can send you a file now. Message me about details.
     
  11. Johnr777

    Johnr777 Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2017
    Messages:
    164
    Likes Received:
    80
    Not following you... both 3DS Max and 3DSimED have a Y - up checkbox, that should take care of all your axis issues, dont need to correct anything in max
     
  12. eg01st

    eg01st New Member

    Joined:
    Monday
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    2
    Yes, the checkbox is checked in both programs. I think when I started making tarmac I changed the axis along with spawners and checkpoints.
     
  13. Pixelchaser

    Pixelchaser Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2015
    Messages:
    1,303
    Likes Received:
    865
    try recording with temporary terrain that is z=up, I`m sure that`s the change with the 3dsimed export method.
     
  14. eg01st

    eg01st New Member

    Joined:
    Monday
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    2
    I will try again tomorrow. But it seems like game doesn't see my car at all in replay - I set up camera.ini manually, with a few cameras from 0 up to 1, but when I try to replay, there are only 6 default onboard/chase cams.

    Everything else works - AI, DRS, minimap, ghostcar...

    BTW when I delete fast_lane.ai and start to record a new spline, game shows me WRONG WAY sign as I go around the lap and turn 180 degrees relative to starting point. Is that normal?
     
  15. luchian

    luchian Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2014
    Messages:
    1,912
    Likes Received:
    691
    Additionally, have a look here.
     
  16. eg01st

    eg01st New Member

    Joined:
    Monday
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    2
    Yep, that's exactly how I did it with my 4 test cameras in current build - the painful way. Mouse macros will become handy.

    But the cameras simply are not there when I hit replay...
     
  17. luchian

    luchian Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2014
    Messages:
    1,912
    Likes Received:
    691
    ..and you did save them, right ?
     
  18. eg01st

    eg01st New Member

    Joined:
    Monday
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    2
    Code:
    [HEADER]
    VERSION=3
    CAMERA_COUNT=5
    SET_NAME=
    
    [CAMERA_0]
    NAME=cam0
    POSITION=21.5691 ,13.1117 ,123.646
    FORWARD=-0.387185 ,-0.237703 ,-0.890835
    UP=-0.094751 ,0.971338 ,-0.218002
    MIN_FOV=42
    MAX_FOV=42
    IN_POINT=0
    OUT_POINT=0.0124978
    SHADOW_SPLIT0=1.8
    SHADOW_SPLIT1=20
    SHADOW_SPLIT2=180
    NEAR_PLANE=0.1
    FAR_PLANE=5000
    MIN_EXPOSURE=0
    MAX_EXPOSURE=10000
    DOF_FACTOR=10
    DOF_RANGE=10000
    DOF_FOCUS=0
    DOF_MANUAL=0
    SPLINE=
    SPLINE_ROTATION=0
    FOV_GAMMA=0
    SPLINE_ANIMATION_LENGTH=15
    IS_FIXED=0
    
    [CAMERA_1]
    NAME=cam1
    POSITION=-277.926 ,19.1904 ,554.646
    FORWARD=0.681324 ,-0.0526348 ,-0.73009
    UP=0.0359107 ,0.998614 ,-0.0384809
    MIN_FOV=10
    MAX_FOV=10
    IN_POINT=0.0124978
    OUT_POINT=0.0680236
    SHADOW_SPLIT0=1.8
    SHADOW_SPLIT1=20
    SHADOW_SPLIT2=180
    NEAR_PLANE=0.1
    FAR_PLANE=5000
    MIN_EXPOSURE=0
    MAX_EXPOSURE=10000
    DOF_FACTOR=10
    DOF_RANGE=10000
    DOF_FOCUS=0
    DOF_MANUAL=0
    SPLINE=
    SPLINE_ROTATION=0
    FOV_GAMMA=0
    SPLINE_ANIMATION_LENGTH=15
    IS_FIXED=0
    
    [CAMERA_2]
    NAME=cam2
    POSITION=78.8498 ,25.2955 ,1070.33
    FORWARD=-0.584311 ,-0.0950143 ,-0.805951
    UP=-0.0557702 ,0.995475 ,-0.0769249
    MIN_FOV=37
    MAX_FOV=37
    IN_POINT=0.0680236
    OUT_POINT=0.12962
    SHADOW_SPLIT0=1.8
    SHADOW_SPLIT1=20
    SHADOW_SPLIT2=180
    NEAR_PLANE=0.1
    FAR_PLANE=5000
    MIN_EXPOSURE=0
    MAX_EXPOSURE=10000
    DOF_FACTOR=10
    DOF_RANGE=10000
    DOF_FOCUS=0
    DOF_MANUAL=0
    SPLINE=
    SPLINE_ROTATION=0
    FOV_GAMMA=0
    SPLINE_ANIMATION_LENGTH=15
    IS_FIXED=0
    
    [CAMERA_3]
    NAME=cam3
    POSITION=-275.369 ,30.3039 ,875.557
    FORWARD=0.731904 ,-0.0149914 ,0.681248
    UP=0.0109733 ,0.999888 ,0.0102135
    MIN_FOV=37
    MAX_FOV=37
    IN_POINT=0.12962
    OUT_POINT=0.181039
    SHADOW_SPLIT0=1.8
    SHADOW_SPLIT1=20
    SHADOW_SPLIT2=180
    NEAR_PLANE=0.1
    FAR_PLANE=5000
    MIN_EXPOSURE=0
    MAX_EXPOSURE=10000
    DOF_FACTOR=10
    DOF_RANGE=10000
    DOF_FOCUS=0
    DOF_MANUAL=0
    SPLINE=
    SPLINE_ROTATION=0
    FOV_GAMMA=0
    SPLINE_ANIMATION_LENGTH=15
    IS_FIXED=0
    
    [CAMERA_4]
    NAME=cam4
    POSITION=-283.134 ,180.354 ,321.731
    FORWARD=0.117888 ,-0.311867 ,0.942786
    UP=0.0386956 ,0.950125 ,0.309458
    MIN_FOV=7
    MAX_FOV=7
    IN_POINT=0.181039
    OUT_POINT=1
    SHADOW_SPLIT0=1.8
    SHADOW_SPLIT1=20
    SHADOW_SPLIT2=180
    NEAR_PLANE=0.1
    FAR_PLANE=5000
    MIN_EXPOSURE=0
    MAX_EXPOSURE=10000
    DOF_FACTOR=10
    DOF_RANGE=10000
    DOF_FOCUS=0
    DOF_MANUAL=0
    SPLINE=
    SPLINE_ROTATION=0
    FOV_GAMMA=0
    SPLINE_ANIMATION_LENGTH=15
    IS_FIXED=0
    
    
    Yes, I did. File seems fine.
    Additionally, I stole camera.ini from other tracks and placed in my folder, still no cameras...
     
  19. luchian

    luchian Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2014
    Messages:
    1,912
    Likes Received:
    691
    Basically, if you have a working AI line in the AI folder, and at least one cameras.ini file in the data folder, there is no reason not to work.
     
  20. eg01st

    eg01st New Member

    Joined:
    Monday
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    2
    I could send you an email through WeTransfer with my whole project, which is around 600MB...

    Just that I don't really have a version worth publishing yet, even as alpha. Some barriers are still missing.
     
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice