W.I.P. Question about first track

Discussion in 'Tracks' started by origalde, Jun 6, 2020.

  1. origalde

    origalde Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2019
    Messages:
    55
    Likes Received:
    27
    1 - Yeah, I'm gonna break the track down into more digestible pieces.
    2 - Thanks for the link. I'll check it out.

    1 - Yes indeed I haven't been often on the official website, I hope to find detailed information, I really need it.
    2 - Effectively analysing in retroengineering the tracks of the game remains a sure value.

    Anyway today I'm still not clever enough to make a track alone and without occasional help, thank you for your attention it's very useful.

    I'm continuing my investigations and hope to be able to show you something presentable soon.

    One last thing, the latest Blender to Assetto Corsa Tutorial video is from 2014.



    I'm preparing an updated reboot for Blender 2.8 in the same spirit, can I share it here, and therefore on youtube, when it's done?

     
    Last edited: Jul 9, 2020
    luchian and EKO Sim-Racing like this.
  2. origalde

    origalde Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2019
    Messages:
    55
    Likes Received:
    27
    as promised the video Blender 2.8 to Assetto Corsa Tutorial
    if there is a problem or an issue with the video or its content please comment
     
    Last edited: Jul 14, 2020
    luchian likes this.
  3. xXxKOKExXx

    xXxKOKExXx Member

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2019
    Messages:
    56
    Likes Received:
    50

    hi Origalde, i think you should mention @luchian , he is the master and commander here.
     
    luchian likes this.
  4. origalde

    origalde Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2019
    Messages:
    55
    Likes Received:
    27
    Hey, Koke.
    I've taken Theodore's description (for mention of the author) in description of my video.
    with the link to his original post.
    Of course, I'm willing to mention Luchian.
    Do I have to do it in description,
    where
    how
    ?
    @luchian
     
    Last edited: Jul 13, 2020
    luchian likes this.
  5. luchian

    luchian Administrator Staff Member Pilot RLR

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2014
    Messages:
    2,903
    Likes Received:
    1,403
    No problem, share what you will, as long it is useful for the community. That is the only goal of this site.

    Matter of fact, the first video, which is in the opening post of my guide, does not belong to me or ACM. I don't even know the guy that did it. It was useful, therefore, I did not mind to post it.

    Good luck, have fun, take breaks :D
     
  6. origalde

    origalde Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2019
    Messages:
    55
    Likes Received:
    27
    Hi,
    update with 2x speed and another thumbnail, the first one was deleted
    i added a link to Assetto Corsa Mods web site
    if this is a problem please tell me.
    cheers

     
    Last edited: Jul 14, 2020
  7. origalde

    origalde Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2019
    Messages:
    55
    Likes Received:
    27
    good news, the research is slowly yielding good results. i'm now having fun with the ksMultilayer_fresnel-nm.
    so huge:cool:
    all with gimp no worries and no bugs so far, am'i lucky ?!!! :lol:
    I'm not getting into large-scale modeling yet.
    I'm just testing and finding out without pressure.
    kseditor is so awesome, thanks kunos developer :)
    [​IMG]
     
  8. origalde

    origalde Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2019
    Messages:
    55
    Likes Received:
    27
    Hello modder community.
    Today I'm trying to understand how to align the layout map correctly.
    The X and Z coordinates as you can see are at zero
    In the yellow circle the map shows me in the position marked by the letter A when in reality I am in B.
    I'm looking for info to correctly align the map in size and position with respect to the car's path
    would you have a link that could help me please?
    Cheers!
    [​IMG]

    EDIT:
    I found the information I was looking for here.
    Thank you for taking the trouble to read me and have a nice day :)
    tip n°1 > https://assettocorsamods.net/threads/track-map-help.823/
    tip n°2 > https://assettocorsamods.net/threads/how-can-i-make-ai-path.234/



    [​IMG]
     
    Last edited: Nov 25, 2020
    luchian likes this.
  9. origalde

    origalde Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2019
    Messages:
    55
    Likes Received:
    27
  10. origalde

    origalde Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2019
    Messages:
    55
    Likes Received:
    27
    hello, today the continuation of the advanced shader.
    I'm following in the footsteps of LilSki and it's not easy.
    based on his information i tried to reproduce and understand the use of the ksMultilayer_fresnel_nm
    only difference being the normal map with the same dimensions as the main track to match the road wears

    what I don't understand is that the rendering is not as sharp and clean as at LilSky
    maybe I should have a sharper road texture and a softer alpha?
    I still don't understand all the subtleties of the
    ksMultilayer_fresnel_nm but I still get a result... imperfect :confused:
    [​IMG]

    all textures in dds, fbx, and kn5 file
    https://drive.google.com/drive/folders/1LkYAWJH4ZkXXwhZg5ZMVR7R_qvJ4l7A-?usp=sharing

    see instead
    [​IMG]

    ashpalt-main
    [​IMG]

    asphalt-main-mask

    [​IMG]

    ashpalt-main-details
    [​IMG]

    cracks
    [​IMG]

    ashpalt-main-noise_NRM
    [​IMG]
     
    Last edited: Dec 15, 2020
  11. origalde

    origalde Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2019
    Messages:
    55
    Likes Received:
    27
  12. Johnr777

    Johnr777 Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2017
    Messages:
    619
    Likes Received:
    421
    txDetailA is the alpha channel of the mask texture, so you technically get the option to use 4 detail maps (if the alpha is white). In your example, you are using the main diffuse in that slot. You shouldn’t, just load up another detail map, or use a small NULL texture.
     
    origalde likes this.
  13. origalde

    origalde Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2019
    Messages:
    55
    Likes Received:
    27
    thanks Johnr777
     
  14. origalde

    origalde Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2019
    Messages:
    55
    Likes Received:
    27
    hello,

    Today I do not understand why the car appears with damage.
    I tried several things to find the origin of the problem such as changing the geometric origin of the road so that it is at the center of the world or even of the mesh but none of them gave results.
    I'm at a dead end.
    Do you have an idea?
    [​IMG]

    Have a nice day!
     
  15. fughettaboutit

    fughettaboutit aka leBluem

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2014
    Messages:
    426
    Likes Received:
    167
    seems like the spawn point is broken...check if the AC_START_0 or AC_PIT_0 dummy is too low or rotated the wrong way...
     
  16. origalde

    origalde Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2019
    Messages:
    55
    Likes Received:
    27
    the empties are approximately 1 meter from the ground.
    the road is not perpendicular, because of the shrinkwarp it slopes slightly down the valley.
    when the auto spawn it seems that it suffers instant damage as if it was falling from above.
    I tried to place the start at different heights but the problem persists.
    this is very strange...

    [​IMG] [​IMG] [​IMG] [​IMG]
     
    Last edited: Mar 6, 2021
  17. JrC

    JrC Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2021
    Messages:
    103
    Likes Received:
    64
    Few things.

    From what I understand

    - No Y rotation on your spawn objects. They should spawn ok even on angled ground (?) but any Y rotation destroys the car

    - I dont think timing objects have to be placed on the ground like that. They can float in the air. Might save a bit of time

    -Your pit object (spawn object) has the wrong scale and thats why the pit box is too big... I speak from experience on that one.
     
    Last edited: Mar 6, 2021
  18. origalde

    origalde Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2019
    Messages:
    55
    Likes Received:
    27
    Hello to all

    Looking for a deeper understanding of ksmultilayer_fresnel_nm
    I am looking for documentation on the use of the txDetailA channel [6].
    I have a basic understanding of points 1 to 7 except 6
    Would you have a link to help me understand this element better, when and how to use it?
    Thanks for the help

    [​IMG]
     
  19. Johnr777

    Johnr777 Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2017
    Messages:
    619
    Likes Received:
    421
    Its the alpha channel from your mask texture (Red - Green - Blue - Alpha)

    Works just like the other 3 channels, so you can have a 4th detail map if needed

     
    origalde likes this.
  20. origalde

    origalde Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2019
    Messages:
    55
    Likes Received:
    27
    Wow easier than I thought
    Thanks for the quick answer Johnr777

    With this information I understand that to have a very detailed track 5 textures are enough and as many masks as needed for various declinations see infinite
    knowing that for each added mask it will be necessary to count one more material in kseditor
    is that right ?
     
    Last edited: Mar 12, 2021
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice