RELEASED-wip Motorpark, Romania 0.4.0

Very early version of Motorpark circuit situated in Adancata, Romania

  1. Pixelchaser

    Pixelchaser Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2015
    Messages:
    1,437
    Likes Received:
    970
    try this square link so simple and pretty sweet when set around 10cm repeats.
     

    Attached Files:

  2. luchian

    luchian Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2014
    Messages:
    2,091
    Likes Received:
    794
    Cheers, I'll have a look and test. I wanted to "do it all", I actually did my own texture from a personal photo of the actual fence :D.
     
  3. Pixelchaser

    Pixelchaser Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2015
    Messages:
    1,437
    Likes Received:
    970
    no problem. I get the doing it all part.
     
  4. luchian

    luchian Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2014
    Messages:
    2,091
    Likes Received:
    794
    Hmm.. my tex is so-so. While it looked ok in the Editor, it's less nice in-game. That alpha Test shader ruins it. If only alpha blend was ok..
    pit_fence_wip.jpg

    On the other hand, your texture looks quite nice tiled. I will use it.

    Question (track guys @Pixelchaser , @LilSKi @Johnr777 ):
    Your fence (the transparent one) is a separate object ?
    Or it is unitary with the rest of the structure ?

    I ask because at this moment, wanted to do it all in one. And I had a single texture for a single object. Like this; in this texture, concrete and metal were tiling; but the mesh/link not:
    2019-01-11_004146.png

    However, if I use the tiling texture, this approach is not ok anymore.
     
  5. LilSKi

    LilSKi Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2015
    Messages:
    286
    Likes Received:
    212
    Fence is its own texture/material. I would never do a wall like that now as it will repeat too much. It should have its own texture with different sections so it can be varied more.
     
    luchian likes this.
  6. luchian

    luchian Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2014
    Messages:
    2,091
    Likes Received:
    794
    Roger. It's back to the drawing board then.

    But regarding wall repetition, unless I use multi-layer, it will still repeat.. For example, the texture above is 2048x2048. So the wall in it self (even separate) can be 2048x512. I ill have to go 4096 for the wall ? Do you guys use so many 4k textures ?
     
  7. Pixelchaser

    Pixelchaser Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2015
    Messages:
    1,437
    Likes Received:
    970
    whats wrong , got a picture of the problematic tiling ? ive presumed my link would work but I realise ive not actually done it that way before.
     
  8. LilSKi

    LilSKi Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2015
    Messages:
    286
    Likes Received:
    212
  9. luchian

    luchian Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2014
    Messages:
    2,091
    Likes Received:
    794
    Useful post, thank you. I actually was doing the manual thing, but did knot know you could get away with it without applying the modifier. I have also downloaded a small script that automatically shifts UV in an array, but this method is better I think, cheers.

    It's not with your texture Pix. I was still referring to my approach/texture. With your there will be no problem, I reckon. But I'll post something when I've redone the fences.
     
    Pixelchaser likes this.
  10. LilSKi

    LilSKi Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2015
    Messages:
    286
    Likes Received:
    212
    The way I did it eliminates any form of repetition. The UV shift will repeat over distance which is annoying to me.
     
  11. luchian

    luchian Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2014
    Messages:
    2,091
    Likes Received:
    794
    A first set of cameras to better admire your skills :).
    Copy under \STEAM\steamapps\common\assettocorsa\content\tracks\acm_motorpark_romania\data
    (yes, overwrite the previous one)
     

    Attached Files:

  12. luchian

    luchian Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2014
    Messages:
    2,091
    Likes Received:
    794
    Your square link looks very good @Pixelchaser , thank you for sharing.
    2019-01-11_231212.png

    Also, the material is separate and the texture is tiling. This way I shall not be killed with stones anymore.:rolleyes:
    (the concrete still needs remapping).


    What about the shader, does this look legit ? (it looks ok in-game).
    2019-01-11_231221.png
     
    Pixelchaser likes this.
  13. Pixelchaser

    Pixelchaser Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2015
    Messages:
    1,437
    Likes Received:
    970
    looks good to me. there is the concept of enlarging the scale of smaller scale objects in games. and commonly this has been done by kunos on occasion regards the small alpha channel coverage for wires etc . they make their wires bigger etc so you can see them, I prefer the not being able to really see them.

    the 0.15 alpha presence on object shadows interests me there and its not that solid ! nice.
     
    Last edited: Jan 12, 2019
  14. luchian

    luchian Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2014
    Messages:
    2,091
    Likes Received:
    794
    As you can see in the screenshot. Make it bigger or smaller, and you can't tell what it is anymore just looking at the shadow (it either becomes a grid of dots, either a full object).
     
  15. luchian

    luchian Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2014
    Messages:
    2,091
    Likes Received:
    794
    @track guys:
    Is it possible to set the sun position correctly, in regards to the actual track ? I have made some tests in the editor, and the behavior is weird when playing with the sliders. And in the lightning.ini there isn't that much to set..
     
  16. Pixelchaser

    Pixelchaser Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2015
    Messages:
    1,437
    Likes Received:
    970
    if you remove remove the lighting ini and sun direction from the model (editor) will be invoked.

    when you play with lighting in the editor, as soon as you hit the... (right side panels) you cant change the elevation of the suns position (left side panel)
     
  17. luchian

    luchian Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2014
    Messages:
    2,091
    Likes Received:
    794
    And how do I save it then ? (because I would like it to be as real orientation)


    BTW, looks quite nice with the good lightning.
    sun_position.png
     
    Last edited: Jan 12, 2019
  18. Pixelchaser

    Pixelchaser Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2015
    Messages:
    1,437
    Likes Received:
    970
    as the model is saved to kn5 it takes the information from the editor over I believe. not sure lighting gets saved anywhere in any ini apart from the after effect of invoking the lighting.ini or in the kn5
     
  19. LilSKi

    LilSKi Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2015
    Messages:
    286
    Likes Received:
    212
    Is the track modeled with correct orientation to North?
     
  20. Pixelchaser

    Pixelchaser Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2015
    Messages:
    1,437
    Likes Received:
    970
    I has one piece of negative critique. one I chose to fix with my fences after doing the same. and that's the construction and scale of the links where leaving half size squares and quarter size squares while joining the main frame. construction wise it doesn't look correct. so I either re scale my squares or scale the frame to fit and make it look it was all designed to fit together. so like the edge of a square comes down the middle of the frame pole for proper attachment etc. maybe these fences are like that though, ive no idea.
     
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice