RELEASED-wip Gran Turismo - Trial Mountain

Discussion in 'Tracks' started by xXxKOKExXx, Mar 22, 2020.

  1. xXxKOKExXx

    xXxKOKExXx Member

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2019
    Messages:
    56
    Likes Received:
    50
    Hi all,

    Since my Deep Forest "conversion" was dumped, i prefer to change of pace and start directly to re-do the other old mesh i had: Trial Mountain ( i got saturated of deep forest).

    Because this days of quarantine are been so productive, i will try to update with high frecuency my improvements on it.

    Up today, i have done all the visual road in a smoothed way,its uv´s and i started to make the grass/sand/kerbs next to it. I decided to start after the main straight ( so, it will be the final step), and this morning i just finished the first polishing of the first tunnel. Obviously when i complete "the first lap", i will add more details, fixes and so on...

    My idea is to create a mix of GT6 visual ( i have some youtube videos to look the enviroment appearance) , original GT1/GT2 visual ( there are some zones with high different enviroment than GT6), and my own taste of whatever i want to. For example, i made the first tunnel with different concrete areas, to force to dont use so wide driveable zones ( i think GT tracks are too wide, so i will try to limit that)

    What quality it will have? with my poor skills, dont hope high quality, but i will try my best...

    Sorry for my english, and... stay tunned.

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]
     
    Sean F likes this.
  2. xXxKOKExXx

    xXxKOKExXx Member

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2019
    Messages:
    56
    Likes Received:
    50
    Today i was doing all the fences from the "first part", and the terrain ondulations as well. Then ( but today,with HLAlyx, i doubt of it) im going to create the terrain wich is close to fences.

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]
     
    haunetal1990 likes this.
  3. Johnr777

    Johnr777 Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2017
    Messages:
    518
    Likes Received:
    380
    Much better! :)
     
  4. Stephen Brown

    Stephen Brown New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2018
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    8
    Great project! AC needs much better GT track conversions, so you are doing God's work here.
    One thing concerns me slightly though. You said:
    "For example, i made the first tunnel with different concrete areas, to force to dont use so wide driveable zones ( i think GT tracks are too wide, so i will try to limit that)"
    :(
    Please reconsider! The width of GT tracks is as important as the layouts themselves. It's part of their soul. GT fictional tracks are some of the best ever created and the driveable width is part of that overall design and what makes them so much fun.
    Please keep the integrity of the original design. Polyphony knew what they were doing and these tracks were honed to perfection. Wide tracks allow more overtaking opportunities and allow more creative lines. Please don't restrict that.
    Just my opinion of course, but IMO when converting tracks they should be done as faithfully as possible to the source material.
     
    xXxKOKExXx likes this.
  5. xXxKOKExXx

    xXxKOKExXx Member

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2019
    Messages:
    56
    Likes Received:
    50

    Thanks for your reply!

    dont worry, i will keep the original road shape, but for example inside the tunnel you had so wide concrete area that i just limited because "wider reasons"... I was searching more areas with this extrawide area and i didnt find much more apart first tunnel.

    for other hand, another pic with yesterday+today improvements. Now, im doing the terrain next to road at the "first part", before tunnel.

    [​IMG]
     
  6. xXxKOKExXx

    xXxKOKExXx Member

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2019
    Messages:
    56
    Likes Received:
    50
    Say hi to these bad boys

    [​IMG]
     
    Stephen Brown likes this.
  7. xXxKOKExXx

    xXxKOKExXx Member

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2019
    Messages:
    56
    Likes Received:
    50
    Dont be afraid, im here each day of this quarantine... but im so slower at making mountains... And i was trying different asphalt_grass_sand mix textures.

    [​IMG]
     
    Tibor Solyom and Stephen Brown like this.
  8. xXxKOKExXx

    xXxKOKExXx Member

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2019
    Messages:
    56
    Likes Received:
    50
    Ah! Stephen, i was trying it inside game, ( i play with vr) and i can say that it isnt so wide than i thought. And i have to re-do the first kerbs... ( too tiny but tunnel are ok). And elevations are more huge than i thought! Its too fun. Sincerely, i didnt think this track would be so fun with a simulation taste.
     
    Stephen Brown likes this.
  9. Stephen Brown

    Stephen Brown New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2018
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    8
    How has progress been in the past couple of weeks? I'd love to see some more details.
     
  10. xXxKOKExXx

    xXxKOKExXx Member

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2019
    Messages:
    56
    Likes Received:
    50
    Hi guys! i spent so many hours per day, but it seems i did nothing XD pff im too slower for this. Im trying some things, i tried to apply some different textures.. i spent some days searching more textures...

    up today, i have this (if you want to get some visual cancer XD download it) But i have to redo all cliff textures ( yesterday i found some more detailed). And maybe i will redo all grass textures as well.

    https://drive.google.com/open?id=1SEgLbceNOtzdYVq7n2qMOayqV98C8wck


    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]
     
  11. Stephen Brown

    Stephen Brown New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2018
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    8
    Thanks but I think there's something wrong with the track at the moment. I get a black screen in my Rift and on the monitor screen, and it makes the same thing happen to all other tracks after quitting and trying a different one. I had to reinstall my GPU drivers to be able to play Assetto Corsa again.
    Exactly the same thing happened when loading an old Zolder mod track a couple of weeks ago, and it affected other people too. This was using the latest CSP and also the last recommended version (0.1.46).
    No idea what causes it. I've only encountered it on the RD Zolder and this one. Very weird.
     
  12. Stephen Brown

    Stephen Brown New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2018
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    8
    It's actually worse than I thought. Reinstalling GPU drivers gets the display back on my monitor but my Rift just shows a black screen still. No idea how to get it back at the moment.
     
  13. xXxKOKExXx

    xXxKOKExXx Member

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2019
    Messages:
    56
    Likes Received:
    50
    Oh, im afraid it must run ok. I have CSP 0.1.46 too ( and sol) and oculus rift cv1, and it runs ok, without any issue. Yesterday some friends tried the track too ( thats the reason i have it packeted and uploaded to drive) without problems. I dont know what could happen to you.
     
  14. Stephen Brown

    Stephen Brown New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2018
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    8
    It's very weird. Something somewhere triggers this black screen and it seems to alter a GPU/video setting somewhere. I don't know what causes it, only Zolder (from RD) and your track trigger it, and the vast majority of users won't have any issues. I've been two and a half days trying to fix my Rift but I just get black screens in the lenses permanently now. I've tried absolutely everything I can find on the web, YouTube, support forums etc. It's not an Oculus hardware issue as I've tried a different headset and different sensor and both sets have the same issue. It's crazy.
    Just to be clear, I'm in no way blaming you or your track, it's just one of those weird things.
    I hope I get it sorted soon, it's really driving me mad.
     
  15. xXxKOKExXx

    xXxKOKExXx Member

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2019
    Messages:
    56
    Likes Received:
    50
    Did you try a vanilla Assetto installation? without any CSP&friends addons? on the other hand, i have to say that i was "vanilla" until some days ago, so i can confirm that this track runs with&without any CSP&friends addons. This track is too simple, without any custom surface, or shader...

    But im curious with your issue. Please, keep me informed if you find something.
     
  16. Stephen Brown

    Stephen Brown New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2018
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    8
    Thanks. Using vanilla Assetto Corsa won't help with the current issue unfortunately. It's not that I can't use my Rift in Assetto Corsa, it's that I can't use my Rift at all. Even on the Oculus dashboard I just get black screens in the HMD. It still tracks and moves on my monitor but there's nothing I can do to get an image in the headset. I've attempted all solutions from the web. Tring a clean installation of Windows today to see if that hopefully resets something.

    I have a suspicion that this issue is somehow related to Sol, but it's weird that it permanently affects the Rift away from Assetto Corsa.
     
  17. xXxKOKExXx

    xXxKOKExXx Member

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2019
    Messages:
    56
    Likes Received:
    50
    Hi guys.

    This days i was doing some things:

    - all the "next to road" terrain/shape
    -searching more "cliff" textures to re-do all the big rocks next to road.
    -training with those textures to make its "normals" version, and "mask" version to use the multimap shader.
    - extracting some kunos tracks to can see and learn what they did/used with the shaders&textures.
    - during some days i did a break and i created: nordschleife reverse version ( all its variants), and an "add on" to transfagarasan to get "walls" on the whole track and an easter egg ( i was tired to go to hell at every bad braked corner..). I needed that break.
    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    For other hand, i need your help guys. I have some textures that are so beauty, but when they are "tiled" to infinite i have this weird visual thing i dont know how to resolve. Can you make some tip? what do you do with these situations?

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]
     
  18. Johnr777

    Johnr777 Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2017
    Messages:
    518
    Likes Received:
    380
    What you are experiencing is just that, tiling.

    When you unwrap an object like a wall, or road, you should avoid using squared textures... they should be long, allowing lots of variation to minimize the tiling effect. Some shaders, like ksgrass... allow a variation texture, that sometimes helps as well.
     
  19. xXxKOKExXx

    xXxKOKExXx Member

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2019
    Messages:
    56
    Likes Received:
    50
    Thanxs for your fast reply...

    maybe... if i add some "things" in the middle.. do you think that tiled effect might dissapear? I mean, for example in the tunnel, if i add some objects/columns would be a solution? or you, pro-guys, are using multilayer shaders with different masks to avoid tiled effects? multilayer or multimap?
     
  20. Johnr777

    Johnr777 Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2017
    Messages:
    518
    Likes Received:
    380
    Yeah, we do experiment a lot with shaders, specially grass and road, with masking, etc.

    But cant do much when it comes to your tunnel and the porcelain tiles. you'll need a longer texture.
     
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice