TUTORIAL Track layouts - How-To ?

Discussion in 'Tracks' started by assettocorsamods, Sep 22, 2015.

  1. assettocorsamods

    assettocorsamods Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 30, 2014
    Messages:
    770
    Likes Received:
    112
    Layouts were introduced in Assetto Corsa tracks with the release of Nordschleife. Maybe because some memory limitations needed to be avoided or simply because the track is available in multiple configurations. Either way, here are the main points on how to use them. I would suggest however, to firstly play and understand the "no-layouts-tracks", as described in the basic guide, and only after attacking the multiple configs.

    We'll use the ks_nordschleife, as a reference. And we'll use acm_rainbowlane, as an example. acm_rainbowlane being a fantasy track that contains 2 layouts: fullcourse and club.

    First, just as for "normal" (no layouts) tracks, there has to be a acm_rainbowlane.kn5 inside the acm_rainbowlane folder (observe the same name for the folder and main kn5 file). And then the additional .kn5 files, with the differences from one layout to the other. Se we'll finally have:

    acm_rainbowlane.kn5 - will contain the common geometry (used in all the layouts). e.g. main road, stands, etc.
    fullcourse.kn5 - will contain specific geometry to this layout (maybe different start positions, maybe different timings gates, etc)
    club.kn5 - will contain specific geometry to this layout (maybe different start positions, maybe different timings gates, etc

    Then, for the fullcourse layout, we'll need:
    /acm_rainbowlane/models_fullcourse.ini contains all the models used in the fullcourse layout.
    /acm_rainbowlane/fullcourse folder needs to be present, and in it the usual folders & files : data, ai, etc.

    Similar for the club layout:
    /acm_rainbowlane/models_club.ini which contains the models used in the club layout.
    /acm_rainbowlane/club folder needs to be present, and in it the usual folders & files: data, ai, etc.

    Back to the main folder, inside the acm_rainbowlane/ui/ folder - you'll need specific folders for each layout (this information is only used to display the track configurations in the main menu). In our example:
    /acm_rainbowlane/ui/fullcourse - contains the correct json and preview files for full layout
    /acm_rainbowlane/ui/club - contains the correct json and preview files for club layout

    The Nordschleife uses 1.kn5, 2.kn5, etc. but you can use anything you like as a name for the additional models (I've used 'fullcourse' and 'club' - but again, not important). As long as you have the main kn5 file, which MUST have the same name as the main folder => /trackname/trackname.kn5.

    How does a .ini file look like ? Here are the examples:

    models_fullcourse.ini
    Code:
    [MODEL_0]
    FILE=acm_rainbowlane.kn5
    POSITION=0,0,0
    ROTATION=0,0,0
    
    [MODEL_1]
    FILE=fullcourse.kn5
    POSITION=0,0,0
    ROTATION=0,0,0
    
    models_club.ini
    Code:
    [MODEL_0]
    FILE=acm_rainbowlane.kn5
    POSITION=0,0,0
    ROTATION=0,0,0
    
    [MODEL_1]
    FILE=club.kn5
    POSITION=0,0,0
    ROTATION=0,0,0
     
  2. MGMetroDave

    MGMetroDave Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2019
    Messages:
    141
    Likes Received:
    155
    Thank you for this clear, simple explanation! :nerd:
     
    giovanni pasolini and luchian like this.
  3. Hamzah

    Hamzah New Member

    Joined:
    Friday
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    I’m not trying to make a custom track for myself but I downloaded a 2020 F1 Zandvoort layout track and it is it’s own separate track. I’d much prefer to have it as a layout for zandvoort but I am ending up with 2 main kn5’s (ks_zandvoort Type files.) is it possible to merge the two or potentially make a kn5 with nothing on it and save it as the main file and have The 2 main kn5’s be layout specific models? I’d appreciate any feedback as I also might do this to the Nürburgring & Nordschleife if it’s possible
     
  4. fughettaboutit

    fughettaboutit aka leBluem

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2014
    Messages:
    282
    Likes Received:
    107
    not really, in "models....ini" ac expects the main kn5 to be named after the folder-name, so if you now introduce another layout with another main kn5 you have a "models....ini" not having the expected main.kn5 in it and ac wont start
     
    Last edited: Oct 16, 2020 at 4:07 PM
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice