TUTORIAL Thomas Kaltvik - RTB plugins Ver 1.0 tutorial

Discussion in 'Tutorials' started by DeepJKL_FIN, Feb 20, 2022.

?

Is this ok?

Poll closed Feb 20, 2023.
  1. No

20.0%
  2. Yes

60.0%
  3. My computer is too slow

0 vote(s)
    0.0%
  4. I like it!

60.0%
  5. Shut up and take my money!

20.0%
Multiple votes are allowed.
  1. DeepJKL_FIN

DeepJKL_FIN New Member

EDIT: new and more detailed manual is now released at: Steam Community

1. First the download link: Thomas Kaltvik Software Engineering Limited on GitHub
    2. If one would like to support or thank, then donate at: Marko at Thomas Kaltvik on PayPal
    upload_2022-2-20_21-14-47.png
    1. The plugin is created to version 1.0 and it supports only cellsize 1 on version 1.0. No promises about next version. My day job is getting ruined becouse of this adventure to the plugin code and tests.
    2. You need to install SQL Server to use this plugin. Select the free Developer edition, since it supports databases over 10Gb. A area covering 10x10km with index results almost 20Gb database.
    3. Once you have installed the SQL Server and made a database to it, figure out the connection string which is like:
      • Data Source = YourServerName; Initial Catalog = YourDatabase; Integrated Security = True
    4. You need Lidar data in .LAS or .LAZ format, or directly as ASCII grid with cellsize = 1 (meter).
      • There can be many tiles or just one. It is prefered to merge them to one big, but multiple works when the tiles are neighbour tiles forming a square. So 1, 4, 8 and 16 tiles is tested to work.
    5. If your data is allready in ASCII format, please jump to: 12.
    6. If you have .LAZ formated lidar, use Laszip.exe to un-pack it to .LAS format.
    7. Once in .LAS form, copy the file(s) to one folder, that is easy to access, like c:\lidar
    8. Download and install FUSION. I prefer that this is in c:\FUSION so it's easy to access.
    9. Run from Command Prompt (CMD) for all the .LAS files: