QUESTION Can't see track in AC Editor, when I downscale it enough it appears but my car falls through, help?

Discussion in 'Tracks' started by Southh, Sep 1, 2021.

  1. Southh

    Southh New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2021
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    1
    New to blender and trackmaking, I can't see the normal sized track in AC editor and I can only see parts of the smaller version if I double-click on its name. I was able to adjust some settings on the smaller one and export it to kn5 but my car falls through when I boot it up in game. Can someone show me what I need to do to get either one, preferably the larger one to work? .blend and .fbx files are in the folder below.

    Thanks!

    https://drive.google.com/file/d/13X2t_QE-7glIo9DrmnMfoTeR3jm51iTi/view?usp=sharing
     
  2. John Harding

    John Harding New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2021
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    19
    Hello Southh
    If you scale by 100 on export from Blender, you can see the elements in KsEditor. It's just a unit thing.
    [​IMG]
     
  3. Southh

    Southh New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2021
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    1
    Nope, still can't see the road. By the way, are those the settings I should be exporting at? I'm following this tutorial and they have it like this:
    upload_2021-9-3_0-21-1.png
     
  4. John Harding

    John Harding New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2021
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    19
    I've used -Z as per the guide here and it seems to work fine with your file. With regards scale, it depends on how your Blender units are set up and the version you are running. See the debate here. Anyway, I got your fbx working using those export settings, so not sure why you can't get the same result?:
    [​IMG]


    Edit: Probably a better way. Check the unit settings in Blender (I'm running 2.93.1 for reference). Again, I managed to export using the following settings and open in the ksEditor just fine:

    [​IMG]

    2. Your spawn points do not currently work because of axis orientation. You need to have the Z pointing in the start direction, and the Y pointing up. Here is one of your spawns with the correct axes, making sure to check the checkbox, so that the rotation only affects the origin like so. If the spawn points are not set up correctly, you will appear at 0,0,0 when opening AC and fall through the scene. Again, I can highly recommend the 'your first track' guide by Luchian in order to get something working for the first time.

    [​IMG]
     
    Last edited: Sep 3, 2021
  5. Southh

    Southh New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2021
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    1
    It's working!!! Still got a long way to go before you could call it a real circuit though. Thanks so much for your help :lol:
    Screenshot_ks_porsche_911_gt3_cup_2017_tryagiantracwwwggggggw222_3-8-121-21-49-31.png
     
    John Harding likes this.
  6. Southh

    Southh New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2021
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    1
  7. John Harding

    John Harding New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2021
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    19
    Check the name of your timing objects. Some have full stops at the end of them which shouldn't be there: "AC_TIME_0_L."
     
  8. Southh

    Southh New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2021
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    1
  9. John Harding

    John Harding New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2021
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    19
    This is an extract from your Surfaces.ini file:

    [SURFACE_2]
    KEY=1GRASS

    [SURFACE_6]
    KEY=GRASS

    Can you see the problem when you start to put numbers in front of your bespoke types? Also for standard things like Grass used in all tracks, you don't need to define these in your own Surfaces.ini file, Assetto Corsa has some basic surface types already (unless you really want to overrule them, maybe you do). I'm quoting directly from Luchian's guide:

    ROAD, GRASS, KERB, SAND basic surface types, already defined in assettocorsa\system\data\surfaces.ini
     
  10. Southh

    Southh New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2021
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    1
    Last edited: Sep 16, 2021
: help
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice