TOOL Lighting color codes website

Discussion in 'Tracks' started by Eric Tripton, Oct 4, 2019.

  1. Eric Tripton

    Eric Tripton Member

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2019
    Messages:
    39
    Likes Received:
    18
    Just so I understand... I didnt fool with it last night, love the BLM light app btw, I turned of the shaders glitch app too.
    So I new to make cameras, like normal using AI spline, save as a seperate file, but when I am on track and navigate to the camera I wish to use, look at the debug app for position numbers, then insert those numbers into the pollution or the aforementioned lighting, example you gave me. Is that correct?

    The debug gives me the data for POS for those examples.

    Am I on the right way of thinking?
     
    fughettaboutit likes this.
  2. fughettaboutit

    fughettaboutit Member

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2014
    Messages:
    85
    Likes Received:
    50
    yes, you can also use "copy" button in "shaders patch" debug app, it copies some values into the windows clipboard
     
    Eric Tripton and MGMetroDave like this.
  3. Eric Tripton

    Eric Tripton Member

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2019
    Messages:
    39
    Likes Received:
    18
    Ok cool... I'll give it a shot and keep you posted. Thanks again for taking time.
     
  4. Eric Tripton

    Eric Tripton Member

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2019
    Messages:
    39
    Likes Received:
    18
    Hey man, good news.... using this formula, adding a camera up high looking straight down is working!!!!!!!!
    Funny...… if I leave the notepad of lighting ini open, I can tune as the track is active, and I just scroll the cameras till I hit the one I want to tune or whichever......it's all good... I'm a happy at the minute
     
    MGMetroDave and fughettaboutit like this.
  5. Eric Tripton

    Eric Tripton Member

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2019
    Messages:
    39
    Likes Received:
    18

     
    Last edited: Oct 31, 2019
    MGMetroDave and fughettaboutit like this.
  6. Eric Tripton

    Eric Tripton Member

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2019
    Messages:
    39
    Likes Received:
    18
    Thanks again for all the support, I owe you guys one.
    Still need to fine tune lights before update. Then on to getting deeper into textures, just want to at least have working trax.
     
    MGMetroDave likes this.
  7. Eric Tripton

    Eric Tripton Member

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2019
    Messages:
    39
    Likes Received:
    18
    I stumbled onto another way to set the position. In KS Editor, where I move my view of the track shows postions coordinates in the box below the view screen.... I copyied those and installed to your formula in the ini for lights and it worked.
    In other words, I don't have to actually add a track camera..... just cursor the coordinates and copy.
    Funny how much of dolt the obvious can make me feel LOLOLOL
     
    fughettaboutit likes this.
  8. fughettaboutit

    fughettaboutit Member

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2014
    Messages:
    85
    Likes Received:
    50
  9. Eric Tripton

    Eric Tripton Member

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2019
    Messages:
    39
    Likes Received:
    18
  10. fughettaboutit

    fughettaboutit Member

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2014
    Messages:
    85
    Likes Received:
    50
    one simple light config with explanation
    (this example is from "ks_nordschleife.ini", the BMW-bridge spots on start/finish in GP part)

    First this is for the glow:
    Code:
    [MATERIAL_ADJUSTMENT_18]
    ACTIVE = 1
    VISIBILITY_LEVEL = 0        ; this is for BLM-lights app and level-switching
    ;  but its deprecated due to it removing newer stuff
    DESCRIPTION = bridge ads: BMW
    MESHES = NSLITS_bmwspots    ; mesh name from extra-kn5 "ks_nordschleife__lights.kn5", could also be MATERIALS=materialname
    KEY_0 = ksEmissive          ; change this shader-value
    VALUE_0 = 255,255,255,0.5   ; r,g,b,brightness
    VALUE_0_OFF = 0             ; at day: r,g,b,brightness
    KEY_1 = ksAlphaRef            ; only for shiny, glowing things
    VALUE_1 = -193                ; dont use for
    VALUE_1_OFF = 0               ; large areas
    CONDITION = NIGHT_SMOOTH    ; when to activate, see "common\conditions.ini"
    and second makes a light cone
    Code:
    [LIGHT_SERIES_7]
    ACTIVE = 1
    VISIBILITY_LEVEL = 0         ; this is for BLM-lights app and level-switching
    ;  but its deprecated due to it removing newer stuff
    DESCRIPTION = bridge ads: BMW
    MESHES = NSLITS_bmwspots     ; meshnames, could be with place holders ?, or MATERIALS=...
    OFFSET = 0,0,0               ; x,y,z - a possible way to move the light cone
    DIRECTION = 0,-1,0           ; spot direction, x,y,z (here down) can be "=NORMAL"
    SPOT = 155                   ; angle the spot lightens
    SPOT_SHARPNESS = 0.5         ; how sharp is the border of the spotlight
    RANGE = 20                   ; how far does it shine on surounding area
    RANGE_GRADIENT_OFFSET = 0.2  ; how much light goes until the border of the spot
    FADE_AT = 800                ; fade out at this distance in meter
    FADE_SMOOTH = 30             ; how smooth to fade out 0...100
    CLUSTER_THRESHOLD = 4        ; how far from another are calculated lights placed
    ; ie. 20m for normal streetlights, 1 or 2 for small ads-spots, which are close together
    DIFFUSE_CONCENTRATION = 0.7  ; how much does it generate shadows, 1=full shaadows, 0=light everywhere, nearly no shadows generated
    COLOR = 228,228,205,0.05     ; r,g,b,brightness
    COLOR_OFF = 0                ; at day: r,g,b,brightness
    CONDITION = NIGHT_SMOOTH     ; when to activate, see "common\conditions.ini"
     
    Last edited: Nov 19, 2019
    MGMetroDave and Eric Tripton like this.
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice