QUESTION Invalidating lap times based on collision with certain objects?

Discussion in 'Tracks' started by SyNarji, Nov 21, 2020.

  1. SyNarji

    SyNarji New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2020
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Sydney, Australia
    Hi all,

    Hope this is the right place to post for help, please let me know if it isnt.

    I'm working on creating a version of a track that has cones placed around it for a FSAE Student racing team so the drivers can practice on the competition track ahead of race weekends. The way FSAE works is by placing numerous cones around longer tracks to give them more turns and reduce the average speed to a safer number. If there is a collision with any cones on the competition day there is a penalty applied, I was wondering if there is anyway to replicate this in Assetto Corsa? - prefererably without changing too much, a simple invalidated lap time would work.

    Thanks for any help!!
     
  2. fughettaboutit

    fughettaboutit aka leBluem

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2014
    Messages:
    352
    Likes Received:
    135
    You cant use any AC_OBJECTS to make them invalid or something...but you can

    Cut out off the underground surface a small mesh called "1CONEAREA_a" in reasonable size around the Cone, so that the tyre would roll definitely over that when it would hit the cone; use something like this in

    "tracks\yourtrack\data\surfaces.ini":
    [SURFACE_0]
    KEY=CONEAREA
    ...
    IS_VALID_TRACK=0
    BLACK_FLAG_TIME=5 ; lap invalid is only shown once, laptime app shows running laptime in red then
    ...


    For that to work this must be set in
    "Documents\Assetto Corsa\cfg\race.ini":
    [LAP_INVALIDATOR]
    ALLOWED_TYRES_OUT=0 ; default is -1 for all four i guess, if not-you have to test some values here
     
    luchian, maruto and SyNarji like this.
  3. SyNarji

    SyNarji New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2020
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Sydney, Australia
    Oh Awesome Thanks so much! ill give this a crack and see how it goes!
     
  4. SyNarji

    SyNarji New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2020
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Sydney, Australia
    Okay i've set up the surface and everything but when I change the race.ini file it keeps getting reset back to -1? is this expected? or is there some settings that I need to change?
     
  5. fughettaboutit

    fughettaboutit aka leBluem

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2014
    Messages:
    352
    Likes Received:
    135
    use this starter: upload_2020-12-17_2-46-53.png
    click on "Go"
    edit "race.ini" and put ALLOWED_TYRES_OUT=0 in there
    run "acs.exe" manually

    ...and it does not work, just tried that and it does not change anything ;( idk why.
     
    SyNarji likes this.
  6. fughettaboutit

    fughettaboutit aka leBluem

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2014
    Messages:
    352
    Likes Received:
    135
    but i know a solution with CustomShaderPatch v0.1.37 and later with this app:

    upload_2020-12-17_3-51-11.png
    upload_2020-12-17_3-59-1.png
    upload_2020-12-17_4-2-54.png

    rename attached txt file, remove ".txt" extension and you get a zip file, extract to
    "...steamapps\common\assettocorsa\apps\python\"
    folder
     

    Attached Files:

    SyNarji likes this.
  7. fughettaboutit

    fughettaboutit aka leBluem

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2014
    Messages:
    352
    Likes Received:
    135
    fixed and added some stuff
    upload_2020-12-17_5-39-54.png
     

    Attached Files:

    SyNarji likes this.
  8. fughettaboutit

    fughettaboutit aka leBluem

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2014
    Messages:
    352
    Likes Received:
    135
    argh wait there is a problem still with new lap recognition
     
    SyNarji likes this.
  9. fughettaboutit

    fughettaboutit aka leBluem

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2014
    Messages:
    352
    Likes Received:
    135
    this also resets on ingame session-restart
    upload_2020-12-17_6-25-39.png
    upload_2020-12-17_6-26-29.png
     

    Attached Files:

    SyNarji likes this.
  10. SyNarji

    SyNarji New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2020
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Sydney, Australia
    Hey Thanks so much for the help! ive installed the app and all but I'm getting this error when using the python error app. I tried to install ctypes from a previous forum inside the app directory but that didnt seem to help it. Was there anywhere else i should put it?
     

    Attached Files:

  11. fughettaboutit

    fughettaboutit aka leBluem

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2014
    Messages:
    352
    Likes Received:
    135
    Oh ok, just copying ctype is not enough. I hope it works now.
    I wonder why it was working for me...
     

    Attached Files:

    SyNarji likes this.
  12. fughettaboutit

    fughettaboutit aka leBluem

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2014
    Messages:
    352
    Likes Received:
    135
    now session recognition shuold really work ;)
     

    Attached Files:

    SyNarji likes this.
  13. SyNarji

    SyNarji New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2020
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Sydney, Australia
    Thanks so much for your quick responses! will be testing it tomorrow
     
  14. SyNarji

    SyNarji New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2020
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Sydney, Australia
    Thank you so much for all that work!! It is all functioning now
     
    fughettaboutit likes this.
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice