QUESTION Font for dashboard

Discussion in 'General' started by Ternal, Feb 5, 2019.

  1. Ternal

    Ternal New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2018
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    3
    Hi guys, i have a question. I'm trying to fix a mod (just for learning purposes and for personal use only, i don't know who is the original modder or from where the mod comes from). I want to make better the gear font, timing and so on on the digital display of the car.

    I see that many mods have a personal font folder with a png image with all the numbers/letters and a text file with some numbers but i don't understood how to "connect" that image to the car (the mod i'm trying to fix didn't have a font folder but the digital display have numbers even blurry and even i extract all the texture there's no font image in there)

    Someone can help me out to understood how it works? I tried to read the kunos pipleline but i didn't find any font related thing :-/

    Thanks in advance :)
     
  2. Just Kauser

    Just Kauser Active Member

    Joined:
    May 21, 2017
    Messages:
    181
    Likes Received:
    66
    Location:
    Chemnitz, Saxony, Germany, next to the Sachsenring
    The official working font folder is in assetto corsa / content/ fonts

    First Step: Creating you font texture, maybe with Gimp or Photoshop.
    Second Step: Calculate the position where one symbol ends and the next begins for every symbol
    = x pixel position /texture width

    Third step: Calculate the font position in your car. Maybe just place a cube on the dash in 3d moddling software to get an orientation and then fine tune your font ingame.

    Here is an example with my Greddy Gauge: https://www.racedepartment.com/downloads/greddy-vision-sirius-gauges.24151/
     
    Last edited: Feb 8, 2019
    Pixelchaser likes this.
  3. Ternal

    Ternal New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2018
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    3
    That's ok, already done, but what is not clear to me is how to let AC know that the xxx.png and xxx.txt is for that car. Inside Digital_instruments.ini i don't see nothing that's redirect to the font folder. How's AC engine knows that the png i made is for that car?

    Thanks :)
     
  4. Just Kauser

    Just Kauser Active Member

    Joined:
    May 21, 2017
    Messages:
    181
    Likes Received:
    66
    Location:
    Chemnitz, Saxony, Germany, next to the Sachsenring
    [ITEM_0]
    PARENT=DISPLAY_DATA
    POSITION=0.3475,0.9165,0.299; 0.3325 für platzhalter
    TYPE=TURBO_BOOST
    SIZE=0.024
    COLOR=200,200,0,10
    INTENSITY=15.0
    FONT=greddyfont
    VERSION=2
    ALIGN=RIGHT


    This is a Text item in the digital instruments.ini The red marked line is how you implement you font in it with the name of the png and txt file.
     
    luchian likes this.
  5. Ternal

    Ternal New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2018
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    3
    Thanks for your help mate, much appreciated :)

    The only thing that now is still not clear to me is how to space the characters, each letter or numbers, because atm work fine everything except for the fact that the numbers and letters are too much closer each others
     
    Last edited: Feb 9, 2019
  6. Just Kauser

    Just Kauser Active Member

    Joined:
    May 21, 2017
    Messages:
    181
    Likes Received:
    66
    Location:
    Chemnitz, Saxony, Germany, next to the Sachsenring
    idk, but rework the font texture will surely help any way.
     
  7. Ternal

    Ternal New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2018
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    3
    i will try, thanks for your precious help :)
     
    Just Kauser likes this.
  8. AccAkut

    AccAkut Member

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2017
    Messages:
    76
    Likes Received:
    45
    Why calculate anything? There is a GUI tool in the SDK folder to create new fonts automatically, with enough variables to fine tune. Been a while I used it, but I had the font I wanted in a matter of minutes.
     
  9. Just Kauser

    Just Kauser Active Member

    Joined:
    May 21, 2017
    Messages:
    181
    Likes Received:
    66
    Location:
    Chemnitz, Saxony, Germany, next to the Sachsenring
    The tool I have completely overlooked, but in my case it is not helpful, I can only insert fonts that I have installed on the computer and would first have to convert my Greddy font into this format and install, which is certainly more work. But thanks for the tip.
     
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice