Tyre Models

Discussion in 'Car Models | Physics' started by Ricardo Rey, Jul 1, 2017.

1. Ricardo Rey

Ricardo Rey Active Member

Greeting!

Please bare with me as I am new to AC and hopefully this is the right section to ask my question (I will only use the "New" excuse a few more times).

I noticed that there are tyre versions in AC. Never noticed this in other sims.

I downloaded a few mods to see how they are done, and both have tyre versions 5 & 7 respectively. These have no tyre sounds when ingame. Is this due to the tyre model or some other factor? Can tyre model version's be upgraded by myself, or does the original modder need to do it? Am I way off base? :)

Cheers!

2. luchian

luchian Administrator Staff Member

Hahaha, ok just 3 more "new" cards left, and then you're grounded ! :D

Tyre version refers to different iterations of the tyre physics in AC. This is linked to the core physics engine so it comes directly from the devs. Current version is v10. Any modded car with an older version might still work in-game, but could(will) show a different/unexpected/"unrealistic" behavior.

Lack of sound, generally speaking, also points to an older mod, that wasn't updated to latest changes in the audio engine of AC. Although, afaik, that dates quite a bit already.

The lack of tyre sounds in-game though.. not sure why you have that. What track are you using ? Original from Kunos ? Or modded ? Asking because tyre sound is linked to the type of surface you are on (road or dirt, will sound different, for example).

3. Ricardo Rey

One instance is the 1988 McLaren MP4 12c by MAK-CORP. The tyre version is 6. I tried it on various tracks including KUNOS tracks...no tire noise. It has good grip so I pushed hard in the corners, slammed on brakes, tried to burn out etc.

4. Pixelchaser

Pixelchaser Well-Known Member