1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

W.I.P. Torino - Corso Picco

Discussion in 'Tracks' started by Kibbutz, Apr 15, 2018.

1. Kibbutz

Kibbutz New Member

Hello everyone, this is basically my first post here.
    I started this project as I always thought this town (Torino, Italy, actually mine) was built as a huge race track for the Agnelli family and the Fiat, I know it's stupid but even the highways around here are stupidly fun to drive.
    This is a particular part of town in wich I lived and went to highschool some times ago, the first layout I'm working on is kind of a racetrack, the second will be the uphill.
    I'm working mostly on Race Track Builder since it's more user friendly, I have 3ds max and Sketchup 2018 but I'm a total noob, and I'm just taking my first steps into them. Oh, and of course 3dsimed.
    Right now I did the track and the landscape as intended, placed walls and sideways mostly as they should be, and placed not-owned buildings for reference, I'm polishing but it's mostly all done, and this took me 2 weeks. I'll post some screenshots at the end of the post.
    Next step is doing my own buildings. As a kid seeing a videogame for the first time, I'm fashinated how easy it is to build 'em on sketchup. But I need to be careful since I need to do 30/40 houses, and I want to keep it as light as I can (not as possible). And all the advantage to take textures from google maps is gone in the last version. A friend of mine who I can ask for help (industrial designer) did one for me on Rhino and it's a masterpiece, truly, but way too much over the standard. He's learning to model low poly now and will do the 5/6 most characteristic building cause of work but it will be a huge help.