W.I.P. Tarn country road

Discussion in 'Tracks' started by ArthB, Jan 28, 2017.

1. ArthB

ArthB New Member

Hey there !

First post, first mod. I'm really new to this, but here goes. I'm gonna document my progress here. Also be advised I am working with Maya, and I see so little tuts or stuff for maya users on the modding forums, so maybe some of the methods I use can benefit other maya users hopefully !

This is a semi-real world road, located in the south of France ( The layout is real but the road camber, elevation and so forth are not ).

Here is a quick preview of where I am at so far. The textures are garbage, they are just placeholders. And the posts on the side are just here to help get a sense of speed since the road isn't shaded. Anyway I'm really trying to nail the feeling of the road before moving to the aesthetics.

Cheers !

luchian and Pixelchaser like this.
  2. luchian

luchian Administrator Staff Member

Hi @ArthB , welcome to the modding world :).

It's great to see people inspired and starting projects. It's exactly the purpose of the site.
    Look forward to seeing how this evolves (I agree that there aren't that many Maya tuts out there.. I may have come across a few, but didn't always published them). Hopefully this will change :).

Have fun, keep us posted.

3. ArthB

ArthB New Member

Hey luchian !

I've been lurking your threads and posts, thank you for helping others :)

I'm probably gonna work some hours on it tomorrow, so maybe I'll update the tread then. I might also put together a maya tutorial when I'll have the track completed.

luchian likes this.
  4. ArthB

ArthB New Member

Quick little update !

[​IMG]

I've been working on improving the road and the roadside. It now has a proper trench like french roads do, which makes for nice crashes if you're too adventurous and venture offroad at speed :)

If things go smoothly I'll be able to put out an alpha version for you guys to check it out, I'd love to hear your feedback.