SOLVED Minimum amount of surface objects?

Discussion in 'Tracks' started by dmacnz, Sep 21, 2015.

1. dmacnz

dmacnz New Member

Hi Guys,

I am very new to 3d modelling, I normally stick to just driving and not building!

I am playing around with a converted track which from Rfactor2 with permission from the "owner".

I have managed to get the game into 3dsimed and the AC SDK editor.

What is the minimum amount of recognised objects required?!

-I have changed the textures all to PNG,
    -changed the object names of the 1road, 2grass "road and grass" (I have not set any walls or kerbs)
    -I have named some objects near the pits and start l ine AC_start_0 and AC_pit_0

Am i still missing some large concepts or am I on the right track!

But when testing the game crashes.

I am not trying to make it perfect from the start, Just some motivation to see it work before I start trying to reinvent the wheel!

Any info would be great

Thanks
    Dan

2. luchian

luchian Administrator Staff Member

Hey Dan, welcome to the forums :)

You need the spawn points. Depending on the mode you try your track in, it depends. If you start in Practice, or Race, or Hotlap mode. See THIS post, for more info.
    Otherwise, the quickest way to see what's wrong, is to attach your logs. You can find them under \Documents\Assetto Corsa\logs.

3. dmacnz

dmacnz New Member

Thanks for your feed.
    This maybe my lost concept. The AC_start etc Are not spawn points?!

Thanks I will keep reading and track down the logs when I have time tomorrow!

Thanks for the quick informative reply.

Dan

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

4. luchian

Yes, they are. You need to respect CAPS naming.
    Also make sure all your scene objects have assigned materials.

You could be very close to getting it in-game, but only logs can help us further. If you wish, I can have a look.

5. dmacnz

dmacnz New Member