KS Editor imports with wrong textures

Discussion in 'Tracks' started by dwaters92, Nov 16, 2019.

  1. dwaters92

    dwaters92 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2019
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hello,

    I'm trying to export a track I have built into AC... This is the first time I've exported to AC and the first time I've tried to use KSEditor.

    So after finally getting to a point where I'm able to get my track in game & actually drive on it (having spent some time getting the pivot point thing right etc etc) I'm now faced with another problem which I cannot seem to solve & is causing me quite a lot of frustration, as I have searched thoroughly and not been able to find anyone with the same issue as me...

    I export my track from 3DSMax 2017 to FBX 2012 format, using all of the settings given in the first track guide on this forum. Track looks normal in 3DSMax. Load into KsEditor, and suddenly it has replaced many of my textures with a single material. See screenshots for an example. The material in question is just a random one that I applied to the spawn objects.

    I have tried re applying the textures manually within KsEditor, however any change affects every object with that material. So if I change the trees back to their proper texture for example, it then changes all my white lines, buildings, barriers etc to tree textures.

    Weirdly all of the road textures (and anything I have set to a surface material, 1ROAD 1KERB etc) are not affected and show up normally. However I tried then renaming all of the affected objects in 3DSMax to these materials and it made no difference.

    I have tried exporting a completely different track as a test, and I have the same issue (except this time all of my white lines and kerbs are now trees), so it is not project specific.

    Any ideas?

    Cheers,
    Dave.
     

    Attached Files:

  2. Johnr777

    Johnr777 Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2017
    Messages:
    402
    Likes Received:
    302
    How are you applying the textures in 3ds max? Each texture needs its own material.
     
  3. dwaters92

    dwaters92 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2019
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    All textures are under one multi-sub object. If this was the case surely there would only be one texture for everything in KsEditor with the way I've done it though?

    Edit: Nevermind, I've figured it out. Thanks for the hint. Still makes no sense as to why some show and others don’t but at least I can fix it now... Going to be pretty laborious re applying all the materials though!
     
    Last edited: Nov 17, 2019
  4. dwaters92

    dwaters92 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2019
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Alright so I'm actually pretty confused now. Apologies if any of this is pretty basic stuff but I can't seem to get my head around it.

    The track was originally built in BTB using a point cloud, exported to rFactor, and then imported to 3DSMax for further editing so all of the materials were already applied using a single multi-sub... Or so I thought!

    Seems there are 4 different material editor menus, none of which particularly make sense to me... I can now see that all of the materials that were working correctly were contained within separate materials within the scene (material #579 and, inexplicably, the grass_bank materials), whereas the ones that were all coming up with the box.dds material in KsEditor were contained within the single multimaterial.

    What I don't get is that these other materials etc don't show in the sample slots within the compact material editor, I only get the single multimaterial. In fact, I can't figure out how to change these at all other than renaming them, as they only appear in the material/map browser and explorer, neither of which seems particularly helpful.

    I thought I would just add new materials to the sample slots but I will run out of slots pretty quickly doing that.

    I've been using 3DSMax for years to mod tracks having pretty much taught myself, but I'm really confused now. What is best practice for adding/modifying materials?
     

    Attached Files:

  5. Johnr777

    Johnr777 Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2017
    Messages:
    402
    Likes Received:
    302
    Yeah, that won’t work... you’ll see that only the first texture, in that case “box” gets used.

    I generally avoid using the compact material editor, and use only Slate. It has no limitations, there’s a search function, etc

    You still have the source files from the BTB project? Maybe export directly to FBX if possible, without going the RFactor route
     
  6. dwaters92

    dwaters92 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2019
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    I do have the source files but from memory BTB doesn’t allow direct FBX export (I think RTB does but I’ve never used that) but anyway it’s not an option since I did a lot of editing since in 3DS to get it to this point.

    I will try the slate editor, do you know of any useful tutorials etc to get me started?
     
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice