QUESTION Is there a guide to adding cones to a mod track?

Discussion in 'Tracks' started by jsarbour, Jul 12, 2019.

  1. jsarbour

    jsarbour New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2019
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hullo, I'm new to this. Just got my first track working thanks to the resources I found here.

    I'm looking to improve my tracks quite a bit from the rough spot they're in now. The first thing I'd really love some help with is adding cones to my tracks. I want to add a large number of cones, and hope there's an easy way to got about this.

    Thanks!
     
  2. luchian

    luchian Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2014
    Messages:
    2,402
    Likes Received:
    1,005
    No quick trick. You need to model the cone, and them multiply to the needs of your track.
     
  3. Nericksenna

    Nericksenna Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2018
    Messages:
    158
    Likes Received:
    110
    Let’s say it’s « easy » if you have 3dsmax or Blender experience. Like Luchian said, you need to model 1 cone (unless you want different modeled cones) then add textures/materials to it in your modeling program. Then you repeat the cone to your liking and then upload in kseditor....
     
  4. jsarbour

    jsarbour New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2019
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    After building a model, how does one get it into the track? And make it collidable?
     
  5. Nericksenna

    Nericksenna Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2018
    Messages:
    158
    Likes Received:
    110
    You must export your model from 3dsmax or Blender in an FBX format. Then after, you open Kseditor and import the fbx. Once that done, you save as a *.kn5 file and make sure the name is in your *track*.ini file.
    You should read the thread Luchian did. It will help you greatly.
     
  6. jsarbour

    jsarbour New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2019
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thank you. I reviewed Luchian's guide and a few things have become more clear, but I am still confused.

    After modelling a cone object in blender, to the right size and dimensions, with a texture applied, what do I do next?

    Do I:

    a) place them in my normal track model, with the name AC_POBJECT_n (n = 1, 2, 3, ...), or:
    b) make another .fbx with only cones, and then import it as well into the SDK editor? Is there an easy method to space them from origin so they overlap with my track correctly?

    Also, how does Layout.ini factor into this? Do I have to provide the co-ordinates of every single POBJECT I want in my track?

    Thanks for all the help.
     
  7. Johnr777

    Johnr777 Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2017
    Messages:
    293
    Likes Received:
    206
    You are over complicating things, option A is what you need to do, place them on your track model. Re-import the track fbx in the SDK editor, set the shader up for the cone, save persistence file, export kn5 again.
     
  8. jsarbour

    jsarbour New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2019
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    @Johnr777 thank you very much. Luchian's talk of layouts has gotten me all turned around (not to discount all of the helpful information they've provided). You've set me straight.

    Is there any way to customize the physics behaviour of the POBJECTs? Or is it all similar and determined by Assetto Corsa?

    (Other than placement of the origin to determine centre of gravity, I know that much (and not much else)).
     
  9. fughettaboutit

    fughettaboutit New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2014
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    9
    no, thats the culprit of ac_pobject's, no incfluence on behaviour, they all act like weigthing like 5KG

    you may have to make a simpler (Blender, make copy of object, edit mode, Mesh->convex-hull) mesh from the cones and make it a parent of the more complex geometry, but oc dont forget to make it not renderable in ksEditor then
    Clipboard011111.png

    every edge slows physics down... i tried with 120 cones on a track and ac just went to slowmo mode
     
    luchian likes this.
  10. fughettaboutit

    fughettaboutit New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2014
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    9
    small python blender snippet to rename all selected objects to "AC_POBJECTS_xxx" starting with 100:

    import bpy
    import bmesh
    preFix = 'AC_POBJECT_'
    i=100
    for ob in bpy.context.selected_objects:
    ob.name=preFix + str(i)
    ob.data.name=ob.name
    i=i+1
    print(ob.name)

    :lol: idk how to paste code, it must look like this, with spaces in the loop:

    spaces.png


    edit: :lol: actually you can use a lot more objects, a just tested with ~250 and it runs ;)
     
    Last edited: Aug 2, 2019
    luchian and Nericksenna like this.
  11. fughettaboutit

    fughettaboutit New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2014
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    9
    ermh no, you have ~30GB ram usage then
     
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice