Export standard car?

Discussion in 'Car Models | Physics' started by Christian Persson, Dec 10, 2017.

1. Christian Persson

Christian Persson New Member

Hi,

So, I'm not sure if its frowned upon, legally messy or damn right impossible but is there any way to export a standard car from AC?

What I want to do is take a standard car that I love is available in the first place and improve on that to my own liking, I don't plan on releasing anything publically or do any online gaming with this content, all I want is to be able to make some changes that I think AC gets wrong about the content and alter into my own justification in to what the car should be. Main things that I want access to is a ability to change the power/dyno curve and suspension settings, that's it.

I have some experience with modding from rFactor and can see that the basics and filestructure are the more or less the same. the old mod I made for rFactor is something a want to renew as I move to AC.

So, is there any way to exports the standard cars to the generic ini files?

Regards,
    Christian

2. luchian

luchian Administrator Staff Member

Uff, indeed a grey subject to discuss :).

You are right, it is frowned upon.
    You are mostly right with the legally messy - it's in the first place something that Kunos asked people not to do. and that is modifying their (Kunos's) content. It has probably some legal implications, but some additional flavors also.

In any case, here at ACM, we love and respect their work, so we do not encourage this practice.

Having said that, if you plan on doing this for personal use only, I can add that you are wrong to say it's impossible :D. All the ini's that you look, are in the data.acd file. This helps also to avoid online cheating, for example, but also to protect to some extent the work of car's author (Kunos or modder).