QUESTION (edit/remove)tyre squealing sounds on dirt surface

Discussion in 'Tracks' started by Arachnus, Jun 19, 2017.

  1. Arachnus

    Arachnus New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2015
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    9
    Hello guys, i´ve been here for a while, reading and learning a lot of modding stuff, following some threads, but never really posted anything while i was creating a local race track from scratch for AC, I really like this forum and want to first, thank the guys that digged throught a lot on ac modding, thank you!!!

    This is my first thread/post here, i´m looking for some info on the tire squealing sounds, my track has 4 layouts one of the layouts is a dirt road, (sort of) "a rally" layout, everything is fine, but i cannot find anyway to edit/remove/replace, the squealing sound. I´ve created a "dirty" surface to race on this layout, i´m thinking that that the tire squealing sound maybe is hardcoded? if it´s a "racing" surface, it´ll load anyway with the cars, not with the track? i really don´t know. I´ve searched a tad on AC support forum and here, but found nothing about this.

    I´ve added sand sound to this surface on surfaces.ini, came out very nice, but i would like to remove squealing sounds on the dirt surface, any of you managed to edit, found where is the control of this tire squealing thing please?

    Cheers.
     
  2. luchian

    luchian Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2014
    Messages:
    2,257
    Likes Received:
    900
    Hi there, welcome to the posting side :D.

    ..hmm, this is actually interesting, I did not play with it. Do you mean that when defining a new surface of some sort, the engine asumes it's tarmac and by default it will squeal ?

    Also when braking&locking the wheels ? It sounds like rubber on asphalt ?

    If yes, what about using sand/grass key instead and customize those ?

    Sent from my phone using Tapatalk
     
    Arachnus likes this.
  3. Arachnus

    Arachnus New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2015
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    9
    haha , thank you Luchian for the welcoming on the posting side, appreciate it.

    I think if you set the physical value "1" before the surface name and it´s the only valid track, the engine will adopt such behavior, don´t know exactly, but since this Dirty surface it´s the only one set as valid track, maybe yes, the engine will throw the tyre squealing sounds on that surface, i hear the rubber on tarmac sounds every time i push on corners, locking brakes etc, as it should work on a normal asphault track, i´d like to get rid of just this at just this surface.

    i really would like to use my created "1DIRTY" surface tag, as i´m already using the common ones, GRASS, SAND, ROAD, around the race track and other layouts too, i did tried using a modified GRASS/GRAVEL copy, but then i got the grass/gravel sound on the entire road, sand was the same, you can edit the damping, friction/grip, but the sounds was still there, on the Dirty surface i created, i assigned another sand effect, more natural to tires rolling on dirt, i didn´t tried every other surface on the vanilla menu yet, with more time maybe one will fit, but seems that if the engine think that is the racing surface, it´ll throw the squeals with the cars.

    i have some free time today, i´ll try more experiments, any find i´ll let you know, thank you!

    Cheers
     
    luchian likes this.
  4. Arachnus

    Arachnus New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2015
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    9
    Hello!

    Well, i did a small testpad to try some custom surfaces, unfortunatelly with no luck, the "is valid track" thing has nothing to do with squealing sounds, i only got rid of the squealing sounds and skidmarks on the vanilla GRASS surface, but then you can´t assign other sound sources, it always load the default one, you can make it more drivable, but the thing is that,with any other custom surface based on a copy of the GRASS tag, example: GRASS-RUN, GRASS_RALLY, GRASS-Race.., it automatically become a custom surface for the engine(not treated as grass anymore), then the squealing sound and skidmarks are back.

    really don´t have any more ideas hahah

    Cheers

     
    luchian likes this.
  5. luchian

    luchian Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2014
    Messages:
    2,257
    Likes Received:
    900
    IIRC, there should be a field in the ini for specific surface to assign a specific sound ?
    (But that maybe worked in the early days when fmod was not introduced yet ?)

    ...arrrgh.. away with work, can't test :)

    Sent from my phone using Tapatalk
     
  6. Arachnus

    Arachnus New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2015
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    9
    Don´t worry Luchian i´m a little busy right now to, we get there hahha! thank you

    indeed there´s still a line on the surfaces, where you can assign .wav files but when you use the GRASS tag and assign a specific .wav, it will load the vanilla grass sound, i think it´s a case of priority on the engine, don´t know for sure.

    on "dirty", "escape", "concrete", any of the custom tags, i´m assigning the wavs easily, but on grass it won´t load the sound specified on the surfaces.ini.
     
    luchian likes this.
  7. GT VIRUS

    GT VIRUS Member

    Joined:
    May 22, 2017
    Messages:
    33
    Likes Received:
    12
    Location:
    Location
    Can you try putting a blank .wav file to the WAV= section and see if that gets rid of it?
     
  8. Arachnus

    Arachnus New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2015
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    9
    Hello GT VIRUS, i could try this, but i think it will not solve what i´m trying to do, i´m trying to have a custom surface "1DIRTY" (or any custom tag, i´ve changed this a few times), working with a "sand.wav" (already on vanilla ac sound banks folder) file, set on "WAV=" line, till here everything is fine, but then i need this custom surface to don´t show skidmarks and tire squealing sounds.
     
  9. Kudlaty

    Kudlaty New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2019
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    2
    Hi, I'm new here, and new to track modding. I don't like to necro years old threads, but I have very similar probem/question that fits here, and I can't find anything anywhere.

    What I want to achive is sound of tire rolling on cobblestone or bricks, something like driving over kerb.
    Question is: Is it possible to use custom sound for it ? Can I just put .wav file somewhere in track folder and point it in surface.ini like: WAV=content\tracks\mytrack\mysound.wav (tried doing that in many ways with no results, maybe I'm missing something really simple here?) or do I have to create/modify .bank file ? (If I understand these hold sound files)
    I tried adding "WAV=kerb.wav" to my surface definition and it worked, maybe I could even somehow adjust it with pitch but that's still just not sounding right. Also, this sound fades out, so it's not continous...

    @luchian Your tutorial on basic track modding is one of best tutorials I've ever seen! It made everything really easy :)
     
    Gunnar333 and luchian like this.
  10. luchian

    luchian Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2014
    Messages:
    2,257
    Likes Received:
    900
    Hi, welcome :)
    I am not at all an expert in sound modding, but indeed most of (all ?) the sounds are nowadays inside the bank file. However, iirc, I think there is some official Kunos track that has cobbles (maybe Highlands ? or Nords ?) have a look. And see what the name is in the surfaces.ini. If you are lucky, you will find some and use that.

    LE: I had a quick look - no sign of any other wav than the kerb & co.
     
  11. Gunnar333

    Gunnar333 Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2017
    Messages:
    70
    Likes Received:
    145
    Location:
    Germany
    Would be nice to see a solution. I want to change the ambient sound for my track too. But no success.
     
  12. Johnr777

    Johnr777 Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2017
    Messages:
    225
    Likes Received:
    131
    The latest shader patch allows a custom bank file to be used on a track, so you can use your own ambient sounds.
     
  13. Gunnar333

    Gunnar333 Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2017
    Messages:
    70
    Likes Received:
    145
    Location:
    Germany
    So how to build a bank file?
     
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice