Creating a new track with multiple configurations. Had some questions!

Discussion in 'Tracks' started by Zach Shaffer, Aug 22, 2018.

  1. Zach Shaffer

    Zach Shaffer New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2018
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hello,
    There is a karting track I would like to recreate, but I am brand new to Blender and Sketchup. Rather than selecting the configuration, I would rather just build the track and allow the user to drive which ever configuration they would like without forcing them.
    Before I would just just create a cube or plane, a bezier curve loop, and apply modifiers. With multiple configurations, would I just set up multiple loops, but have over lap, or are there any other suggestions?
    Thank you,
    Zach
     

    Attached Files:

  2. pyge

    pyge New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2018
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    Just create separate timing gates kn5 files for each configuration? Take the timing gates out of the track.kn5 and put them into their own kn5s. Then every configuration loads the track.kn5 and the configuration specific kn5.

    As for the model you can pretty quickly get a mesh out of an image if you save it as svg and import into blender as such.


    Drivable roads are defined in the model by naming them as 01ROAD and so forth (also see surfaces.ini) so I'd imagine you can drive anywhere.
     
  3. ArchangelX

    ArchangelX New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2018
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Is there a tutorial for that? To piggyback his question, my track has an integrated drag strip that I'd love for people to be able to switch to. It has a working tree.
     
  4. luchian

    luchian Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2014
    Messages:
    1,912
    Likes Received:
    691
    A tutorial for layouts, yes.

    However, to have ALL configs working in the same time, I do not think that will work as expected. You can of course leave the entire area open for driving, but maybe timing gates/lap counting will get messed up.
     
  5. ArchangelX

    ArchangelX New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2018
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks Luchian! Appreciate it. I think I briefly looked at that and it didn't register what it was about. SMH.

    And yeah, I just mean being able to select the layout before hitting the go button in CM. Thanks again!
     
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice