QUESTION After Some Help With My First Track

Discussion in 'Tracks' started by Larry Tudor, Jun 28, 2020.

1. Larry Tudor

Larry Tudor New Member

Hi,
    I'm in the very early stages of my making my first track - Baypark raceway that is a track that used to exist near Tauranga, New Zealand from 1967 until it closed in 1995. It's got a simple layout (only 4 corners and is fairly flat) so I thought it would be a good one to start with. The track has now disappeared beneath residential development so to get the correct layout I've watched quite a few youtube videos and sourced an historical aerial image and the current property boundaries for the area from Land Information New Zealand. I then imported the boundaries into QGIS and geo-referenced the aerial image to the boundaries and drew the basic layout in QGIS.

I then exported this as an AutoCAD dxf from QGIS. As this had no elevation at all I imported it into some surveying software (I'm a Land Surveyor) and created a basic terrain mesh in the surveying software and exported it as a 3D dxf of the track linework and the mesh triangles.

The above all worked well and my next step was to import the dxf into Blender 2.82a. I've got very little 3D modelling experience and found Blender as confusing as hell. Anyhow the track and terrain meshes had some missing triangles and I patched these up (or thought I had) and added some really bad textures to the track and terrain. Both the track and terrain appeared to texture including the added triangles. By then I was rather fed up with Blender so switched to using 3DS Max 2018 that has a much more intuitive feel.