SOLVED Help with installing mods - How ?

Discussion in 'General' started by fierofreak179, Jan 9, 2015.

1. fierofreak179

fierofreak179 New Member

So I have downloaded one of the tracks from this forum, and am currently trying to get it in the game. I am very new to PC gaming (2 weeks in, so be gentle). Is there an easy and laid-out walkthrough somewhere to help?

Pixelchaser likes this.
  2. Pixelchaser

Pixelchaser Well-Known Member

ok I shall try assist.

your Assetto corsa game is held within a folder structure within your windows pc system. this game due to being a Steam game exists normally within the main steam folder located here.

C:\Program Files (x86)\Steam\SteamApps\common\assettocorsa <- this folder is the main Assetto corsa folder.

so. in this folder there are more folders and explicitly the "content" folder. the addon content you grab goes in here. Car mods go in the Cars folder. and tracks go into the Tracks folder.

each track has a common set of folder and files that it includes. so have a look and familiarise yourself with what a track looks like. And then you get your addon and you intelligently put it in just like the other tracks in the game. the folder structure and its contents is extremely important. don't move anything about etc etc.

sometimes people package their add on creations differently. However there is always a track folder usually that folder is simply titled with the name of the track. its this that goes into your Tracks folder based at the above folder or explorer address.

so the final windows explorer address for where to put a track addon is usually here.

C:\Program Files (x86)\Steam\SteamApps\common\assettocorsa\content\tracks

car mods go here
    C:\Program Files (x86)\Steam\SteamApps\common\assettocorsa\content\cars

Last edited: Jan 9, 2015
    fierofreak179 and luchian like this.
  3. luchian

luchian Administrator Staff Member