1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Featured TUTORIAL Build your FIRST track - BASIC GUIDE

Discussion in 'Tracks' started by luchian, Jun 14, 2014.

  1. MisterWink

    MisterWink Member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2014
    Likes Received:
    8
    ^^ ok thats work :D but on dirt ground i have Aspahlt sound

    Surface_0 = 1ROAD
    Surface_1 = 1DIRTROAD

    i have made , but the same feel aspahlt

    Thxx :) ..........
     
  2. henarky

    henarky New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2014
    Likes Received:
    2
    thank you for this beautifully constructed tutorial. This has helped me create my first assetto track, which was just a basic NASCA oval shaped banked track.
     
    yrynelul and luchian like this.
  3. jarodyi

    jarodyi New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2014
    Likes Received:
    9
    i am new in making a track ,but i use 3dsmax good
    i wanna know how many nessary object i must build in 3dsmax ?
    and i just need to named them just when i start the original mesh?
     
  4. jarodyi

    jarodyi New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2014
    Likes Received:
    9
    i just wanna to make a very simple track can work in ac, even just a plane without anything, plz help me, tks
     
  5. luchian

    luchian Administrator ACM Racing Team ACM Club Driver

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2014
    Likes Received:
    331
    Hello @jarodyi
    You should start very simple in this case:
    - add a plane, name it 1ROAD, for example
    - add a few spawn objects. Depending on the mode you plan to test your track in (practice, hotlapping, race) you will need different spawn objects so you might just make them right from the beginning Once you've done one of them, it's just a matter of copy/paste and renaming afterwards :).

    About naming, you can do your modelling however you wish, but when your track is ready for export, you need to respect the naming convention, otherwise the AC engine does not know how to interpret what you have created.

    So, to recap:
    - make one plane, give it a material
    - add spawn points (AC_START_0, AC_PIT_0, AC_HOTLAP_START_0 should be enough). In case of error, you might need to add at least one pair of timing objects: AC_TIME_0_L, AC_TIME_0_R.

    Feel free to ask here in case of need (but don't hesitate to read the guide in the first page) :).
     
  6. jarodyi

    jarodyi New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2014
    Likes Received:
    9
    I have an error when i open my simple fxb in sdk:

    有关调用实时(JIT)调试而不是此对话框的详细信息,
    请参见此消息的结尾。

    ************** 异常文本 **************
    System.Runtime.InteropServices.SEHException (0x80004005): 外部组件发生异常。
    在 Model.load(Model* , basic_string<wchar_t\,std::char_traits<wchar_t>\,std::allocator<wchar_t> >* , GraphicsManager* , IModelImporter* )
    在 ksNet.ksGraphics.loadFBX(String filename) 位置 g:\acs\ksnet\ksnet.cpp:行号 670
    在 ksEditor.Form1.openFBXToolStripMenuItem_Click(Object sender, EventArgs e) 位置 g:\ACS\ksEditor\Form1.cs:行号 388
    在 System.Windows.Forms.ToolStripItem.RaiseEvent(Object key, EventArgs e)
    在 System.Windows.Forms.ToolStripMenuItem.OnClick(EventArgs e)
    在 System.Windows.Forms.ToolStripItem.HandleClick(EventArgs e)
    在 System.Windows.Forms.ToolStripItem.HandleMouseUp(MouseEventArgs e)
    在 System.Windows.Forms.ToolStripItem.FireEventInteractive(EventArgs e, ToolStripItemEventType met)
    在 System.Windows.Forms.ToolStripItem.FireEvent(EventArgs e, ToolStripItemEventType met)
    在 System.Windows.Forms.ToolStrip.OnMouseUp(MouseEventArgs mea)
    在 System.Windows.Forms.ToolStripDropDown.OnMouseUp(MouseEventArgs mea)
    在 System.Windows.Forms.Control.WmMouseUp(Message& m, MouseButtons button, Int32 clicks)
    在 System.Windows.Forms.Control.WndProc(Message& m)
    在 System.Windows.Forms.ScrollableControl.WndProc(Message& m)
    在 System.Windows.Forms.ToolStrip.WndProc(Message& m)
    在 System.Windows.Forms.ToolStripDropDown.WndProc(Message& m)
    在 System.Windows.Forms.Control.ControlNativeWindow.OnMessage(Message& m)
    在 System.Windows.Forms.Control.ControlNativeWindow.WndProc(Message& m)
    在 System.Windows.Forms.NativeWindow.Callback(IntPtr hWnd, Int32 msg, IntPtr wparam, IntPtr lparam)


    ************** 已加载的程序集 **************
    mscorlib
    程序集版本: 4.0.0.0
    Win32 版本: 4.0.30319.18449 built by: FX451RTMGDR
    基本代码: file:///C:/Windows/Microsoft.NET/Framework/v4.0.30319/mscorlib.dll
    ----------------------------------------
    ksEditor
    程序集版本: 1.0.0.0
    Win32 版本: 1.0.0.0
    基本代码: file:///E:/Steam/steamapps/common/Assetto%20Corsa%20Editor/ksEditor.exe
    ----------------------------------------
    System.Windows.Forms
    程序集版本: 4.0.0.0
    Win32 版本: 4.0.30319.18046 built by: FX45RTMGDR
    基本代码: file:///C:/Windows/Microsoft.Net/assembly/GAC_MSIL/System.Windows.Forms/v4.0_4.0.0.0__b77a5c561934e089/System.Windows.Forms.dll
    ----------------------------------------
    System.Drawing
    程序集版本: 4.0.0.0
    Win32 版本: 4.0.30319.18022 built by: FX45RTMGDR
    基本代码: file:///C:/Windows/Microsoft.Net/assembly/GAC_MSIL/System.Drawing/v4.0_4.0.0.0__b03f5f7f11d50a3a/System.Drawing.dll
    ----------------------------------------
    System
    程序集版本: 4.0.0.0
    Win32 版本: 4.0.30319.34239 built by: FX452RTMGDR
    基本代码: file:///C:/Windows/Microsoft.Net/assembly/GAC_MSIL/System/v4.0_4.0.0.0__b77a5c561934e089/System.dll
    ----------------------------------------
    ksNet
    程序集版本: 1.0.5375.16238
    Win32 版本:
    基本代码: file:///E:/Steam/steamapps/common/Assetto%20Corsa%20Editor/ksNet.DLL
    ----------------------------------------
    System.Windows.Forms.resources
    程序集版本: 4.0.0.0
    Win32 版本: 4.0.30319.18010 built by: FX45RTMGDR
    基本代码: file:///C:/Windows/Microsoft.Net/assembly/GAC_MSIL/System.Windows.Forms.resources/v4.0_4.0.0.0_zh-Hans_b77a5c561934e089/System.Windows.Forms.resources.dll
    ----------------------------------------
    ksMathCore
    程序集版本: 1.0.0.0
    Win32 版本: 1.0.0.0
    基本代码: file:///E:/Steam/steamapps/common/Assetto%20Corsa%20Editor/ksMathCore.DLL
    ----------------------------------------
    mscorlib.resources
    程序集版本: 4.0.0.0
    Win32 版本: 4.0.30319.18010 built by: FX45RTMGDR
    基本代码: file:///C:/Windows/Microsoft.Net/assembly/GAC_MSIL/mscorlib.resources/v4.0_4.0.0.0_zh-Hans_b77a5c561934e089/mscorlib.resources.dll
    ----------------------------------------

    ************** JIT 调试 **************
    要启用实时(JIT)调试,
    该应用程序或计算机的 .config 文件(machine.config)的 system.windows.forms 节中必须设置
    jitDebugging 值。
    编译应用程序时还必须启用
    调试。

    例如:

    <configuration>
    <system.windows.forms jitDebugging="true" />
    </configuration>

    启用 JIT 调试后,任何未经处理的异常
    都将被发送到在此计算机上注册的 JIT 调试器,
    而不是由此对话框处理。
     

    Attached Files:

    • ACE.jpg
      ACE.jpg
      File size:
      299.9 KB
      Views:
      195
    • aceq.jpg
      aceq.jpg
      File size:
      154.1 KB
      Views:
      181
  7. luchian

    luchian Administrator ACM Racing Team ACM Club Driver

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2014
    Likes Received:
    331
    What export settings do you use ?
    Can you attach the logs please ?
     
  8. jarodyi

    jarodyi New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2014
    Likes Received:
    9
    I find the key!

    I am using chinese path in fbx file :) change it into english is ok :)
     
    luchian likes this.
  9. jarodyi

    jarodyi New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2014
    Likes Received:
    9
    another question:

    why I maped the object in 3dsmax seems correct,but wrong in sdk and game? how to adjust it?

    and how I know what the Material list in sdk use for?
     

    Attached Files:

    • sdk1.jpg
      sdk1.jpg
      File size:
      379.9 KB
      Views:
      228
    • sdk2.jpg
      sdk2.jpg
      File size:
      509.7 KB
      Views:
      210
    • sdk3.jpg
      sdk3.jpg
      File size:
      418.9 KB
      Views:
      205
    • sdk4.jpg
      sdk4.jpg
      File size:
      45.7 KB
      Views:
      208
    Last edited: Oct 24, 2014
  10. luchian

    luchian Administrator ACM Racing Team ACM Club Driver

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2014
    Likes Received:
    331
    For the materials, for a few basic ones, you can watch THIS.
    For the issue with UV mapping, I need to get home (in 6h or so); I have seen the problem in 3dsmax but don't remember by heart the name of the setting (using Blender myself). As a general rule, just play with the tile, as there are 2 options: tile the texture inside the UVmap or tile the UVmap itself. And only one works ok in editor :D.
     
  11. jarodyi

    jarodyi New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2014
    Likes Received:
    9
    thank you ,waiting for your
     
  12. luchian

    luchian Administrator ACM Racing Team ACM Club Driver

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2014
    Likes Received:
    331
    Try using UVW Xform modifier on your road mesh.
     
  13. jarodyi

    jarodyi New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2014
    Likes Received:
    9
    i ues loft tu make kerb , got right texture
    but when i use poly to make kerb, i don't know how to texture it in right way .
    but i like poly kerb ,it looks like better
    how u do kerb ?
     

    Attached Files:

    • KERB.jpg
      KERB.jpg
      File size:
      129.3 KB
      Views:
      204
  14. jarodyi

    jarodyi New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2014
    Likes Received:
    9
    sorry , net promblem !
     
  15. luchian

    luchian Administrator ACM Racing Team ACM Club Driver

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2014
    Likes Received:
    331
    I'm not sure I understand..
    Could you maybe share a 3d file ? (you can isolate it and leave only this kerb inside it)
     
  16. jarodyi

    jarodyi New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2014
    Likes Received:
    9
    like this , i got right view in 3dsmax with two kerrb, but only loft kerb view right in ac editor , poly kerb with pathdeform got the wrong texture view , u can see me file ,thanks a lot :rolleyes:
     

    Attached Files:

  17. luchian

    luchian Administrator ACM Racing Team ACM Club Driver

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2014
    Likes Received:
    331
    Ahm, now at least I understood your problem :D. Unfortunately, I use Blender myslef, and don't really know how to advice on the 3dsmax behaviour.. I would suppose it's question of "applying" the modifiers to your meshes so the changes remain permanent when exporting.

    Also, when trying to export from max to fbx, I get these 2 warning, maybe it can help to steer you in the right direction:

    Warning: Turned Edges (1)
    The FBX Plug-in has detected turned edges on Editable Poly objects. If you wish to retain edge orientation, you will need to enable the 'Preserve edge orientation' option in order to enable the plug-in to convert the affected Editable Poly objects to Editable Mesh objects and automatically triangulate them. The following Editable Poly objects are affected:
    -KERB1

    Warning:Geometry conversion (1)
    The plug-in does not support the following objects' geometry type and will convert them to editable meshes. Morph and skin deformations may be lost. If 'Enable in Viewport' is deactivated, closed shapes are capped and open shapes are converted to dummy objects with no edges or faces. If 'Enable in Viewport' is active, the Viewport settings are used for the mesh conversion:
    -KERB1
     
  18. jarodyi

    jarodyi New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2014
    Likes Received:
    9
    why i only get right shadow in less than 1-2m? farther shadow like a shit....

    how to do with it?
     

    Attached Files:

  19. luchian

    luchian Administrator ACM Racing Team ACM Club Driver

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2014
    Likes Received:
    331
    It's not a problem with the track itself; it's linked to AC (and/or video card) video settings. I don't know to advise best settings - you can try playing with shadow quality, anisotropic filtering and mip-maps levels and see what you can achieve. Change one setting at a time so you can judge impact.

    ..and if you find the holy grail, please post back :D.
     
  20. jarodyi

    jarodyi New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2014
    Likes Received:
    9
    ok,i am back :rolleyes:

    now I start to fill my track with grass. but a big promblem is I don't know how to make the texture more natural between Road and grass , grass and sand , like the pic.

    it's a model skill or texture skill?:)