1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

animated Rain texture for car window

Discussion in 'Car Models | Physics' started by Just Kauser, May 21, 2017.

  1. Just Kauser

    Just Kauser New Member

    Joined:
    May 21, 2017
    Likes Received:
    1
    Is it possible to create ananimated Rain texture for the car window like in this video for rfactor?
     
  2. Pixelchaser

    Pixelchaser Well-Known Member ACM Club Driver

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2015
    Likes Received:
    760
    unfortunately not.
     
  3. Denis

    Denis New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2017
    Likes Received:
    2
    Hi. It's possible to make worked wipers not only in showroom, but also on the track ?
     
  4. Pixelchaser

    Pixelchaser Well-Known Member ACM Club Driver

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2015
    Likes Received:
    760
    not sure. there might be, but I don't think so. I think ac had wipers when it first came out. but like many things. some were removed later on down the line.
     
  5. Denis

    Denis New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2017
    Likes Received:
    2
    Porsche 911 RSR for ex. still have worked wipers in showroom
    I can't remember mod name, but several month ago, i watched video (may be Ferrari Spyder ?) with worked сollapsible roof and not only in showroom, but also on the track
     
    Pixelchaser likes this.
  6. Denis

    Denis New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2017
    Likes Received:
    2
    One more things i remember. We have pop up lightings in AC and its worked on the track ofcourse. I hope somedays we have worked wipers. Animation is already in AC, we need only key bind for it (i hope), but this is question, how to do it.

    And one more question. It is possible to do dirt texture not only for body, but for window to ?
     
  7. Denis

    Denis New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2017
    Likes Received:
    2
    I find solution, but now i need to understand how to create proper animation lut for it.
    First we need to add our car wipers to aero.ini
    [WING_3]
    NAME=WIPERS
    ...
    [DYNAMIC_CONTROLLER_2]
    WING=3
    COMBINATOR=ADD
    INPUT= ? I tryed with SPEED_KMH, but i think we need to use RPM instead
    LUT=wipers_controller_speed.lut
    FILTER=0.992 ?
    UP_LIMIT=10
    DOWN_LIMIT=0

    wing_animation.ini
    [ANIMATION_2]
    WING=3
    FILE=car_wipers.ksanim
    MIN=0
    MAX=10

    What do you think about this method ?
     
    Pixelchaser likes this.
  8. Pixelchaser

    Pixelchaser Well-Known Member ACM Club Driver

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2015
    Likes Received:
    760
    if it works !.... it works.
     
  9. Denis

    Denis New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2017
    Likes Received:
    2
    Yes, its works :)
    Can you help me please. What value i need to use for rpm instead speed ? I tried to use INPUT=RPM, but it doesn't work
     
  10. Pixelchaser

    Pixelchaser Well-Known Member ACM Club Driver

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2015
    Likes Received:
    760
    Denis, I don't think many here know much about animations yet unfortunately. I certainly don't. but its going to be a matter of logic. your the man :lol: ! try just look at every animation you can.
     
    Denis likes this.
  11. luchian

    luchian Administrator ACM Racing Team ACM Club Driver

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2014
    Likes Received:
    532
    What happens when you use SPEED_KMH ?
     
  12. Denis

    Denis New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2017
    Likes Received:
    2
    It's hard to take smooth movements of wipers. And sometimes wipers can get stuck in the middle of window.

    For ex. If i have in lut file
    100 km/h = left end position of wipers
    150 km/h = right end position of wipers
    And i drive with ~ 120 km/h, wipers will be in the middle of the window position

    I can't find any mod with wipers animation and i use original Porsche Carrera for test. For this reason i think its not good to put here my video with it ?
     
  13. luchian

    luchian Administrator ACM Racing Team ACM Club Driver

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2014
    Likes Received:
    532
    Useful quote (maybe ?) from the car_pipeline doc:

    To animate wipers, you may use a number of nulls depending on the complexity of the wiper. Usually a wiper with 2, maximum 3 pivot points (and thus 2 or 3 dummies) is sufficient. The wiper nulls must be located in the root of the scene and they must be present in LOD A through LOD C.

    I did not tested this (like a lot of stuff yet), so if it takes you somewhere, please post back :)
     
  14. luchian

    luchian Administrator ACM Racing Team ACM Club Driver

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2014
    Likes Received:
    532
    Also, how did you create the car_wiper.ksanim ? Did you export the full loop ?

    car_wiper.ksanim Loop for the animation of the wiper (here you must animate the full animation back and forth)

    NOTE: you might've done all the stuff, but just throwing ideas from another POV :)
     
  15. Denis

    Denis New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2017
    Likes Received:
    2
    Now animation is speed depended. It's not so good. Better to make it as popup lights (activated by key pressed), but i don't know how to binding keys for animation.